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BACKGROUND 
 
The first sex offender community notification law was initiated in Washington State, 
as a provision of the state�s Community Protection Act of 1990.  Since that time, 
many states have followed Washington�s lead by enacting community notification 
laws.  With the recent federal passage of �Megan�s Law,� in May 1996, states are 
encouraged to include community notification of offenders convicted of crimes 
against children or sexually violent offenses in their statutes.  The law honors seven-
year-old Megan Kanka of New Jersey, who was raped and murdered in 1994.  A 
twice-convicted child molester who lived on her block is awaiting trial for the killing.  
Currently, 40 states have some form of legislation either authorizing community 
notification for released sex offenders, or allowing access to sex offender registration 
information.  Many other states have similar legislation pending.  All states now 
require released sex offenders to register with law enforcement or state agencies. 
 
In April 1996, an Institute report1 analyzed state statutes covering community 
notification, 32 states were included.  This update includes eight additional states 
that have passed legislation either authorizing community notification or allowing 
access to sex offender registration information.2  Arizona�s community notification 
law has been amended, therefore it is also included. 
 
These nine state laws are analyzed in four tables.  Tables 1a and 1b include the 
states that have recently passed legislation authorizing community notification.  
Tables 2a and 2b contain information on the states that have recently passed 
legislation that allows access to sex offender registration information.   

                                               
1 Washington State Institute for Public Policy.  Sex Offender Community Notification: A Review of 
Laws in 32 States, April 1996. 
2 Alabama, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Utah, Vermont, and 
Wisconsin. 



 

Table 1a 
States With Community Notification Laws 

 

State Population 
Subject to 

Notification 

Notification Process Information Included Levels of Risk When Risk 
is Assessed 

Alabama A person convicted of a 
following offense: rape 
in the first or second 
degree; sodomy in the 
first or second degree; 
sexual torture; sexual 
abuse; or incest when 
offender is 20 years old 
or older and the victim is 
18 years old or younger. 

Notification by mail and by posting copy 
of mailed notice in a prominent place at 
city hall and police station closest to 
declared residence of released 
offender.  Extent of notification 
dependent upon population density in 
area of offender�s residence:  
notification to all persons with 
residences within 1,000 feet of offender 
in cities of Birmingham, Mobile, 
Huntsville, and Montgomery; 
notification to all persons with 
residences within 1,500 feet of offender 
in all other cities with a resident 
population of 5,000 or more; notification 
to all persons with residences within 
2,000 feet of offender in all other 
municipalities with a resident 
population of less than 5,000. 

Name, address, sex, age, 
physical description, current 
photograph, and a statement of 
the sex crime or crimes for 
which the offender has 
completed sentence, and the 
date of release.  The 
notification shall also include a 
statement that the same 
information is on file at police 
headquarters, or sheriff�s 
office, and is available to the 
general public. 

No levels of risk; statute applies to any 
person convicted of any criminal sexual 
offense. 

Upon conviction. 

Arizona Convicted sex offenders 
who: are released from 
prison, are placed on 
probation, violate and 
are reinstated to 
probation, or have been 
accepted under 
Interstate Compact on 
or after June 1, 1996; 
notification dependent 
upon level of risk. 

Community notification guidelines 
provide for levels of notification based 
on the risk a particular offender poses 
to the community: for level I offenders, 
the local law enforcement agency that 
has responsibility for notification shall 
maintain information about the offender 
and may disseminate this information 
to other law enforcement agencies and 
may give notification to the people with 
whom the offender resides; for level II 
offenders, the notification may be made 
to schools, neighbors, community 
groups, and prospective employers; for 
level III offenders, the notification shall 
be made to schools, neighbors, 
community groups, and prospective 
employers; 

Level III flyers can contain a 
picture and address of the 
offender, a brief criminal 
history, and synopsis of the 
mode of operation used when 
committing the offense. 

A screening tool developed by the 
Community Notification Guidelines 
Committee will place an offender into a low, 
medium, or high category.  Such factors as 
seriousness of crime, use of force, history of 
criminal behavior, and number of victims will 
be assessed. Level I offenders pose a lower 
risk to the community.  Level II offenders 
pose a medium risk to the community.  Level 
III offenders would pose the greatest risk to 
the community. 

Within 72 hours of 
release or 
sentencing. 

 



 

 

 

State Population 
Subject to 

Notification 

Notification Process Information Included Levels of Risk When Risk 
is Assessed 

Massachusett
s 

A person convicted of a 
sex offense or who has 
been adjudicated as a 
youthful offender or as a 
delinquent juvenile by 
reason of a sex offense, 
or released from 
incarceration or parole 
or probation on or after 
August 1, 1981; 
notification dependent 
upon level of risk. 

Notification process is dependent upon 
the degree of risk of re-offense by the 
offender: low risk, registration data 
transmitted to police departments 
where the offender intends to live and 
work and where the offense was 
committed and to the F.B.I.; moderate 
risk, schools, day care centers, 
religious and youth organizations, and 
sports leagues that are likely to 
encounter the offender must also be 
notified; high risk, individual members 
of the public which are likely to 
encounter the offender must also be 
notified.  The public shall have access 
to all levels of sex offender information. 

Level II and III notifications 
include:  offender�s name, 
address, work address, 
offenses for which convicted, 
date of conviction, age, sex, 
race, height, weight, eye and 
hair color, and a photograph of 
the offender. 

Guidelines for community notification 
established in a three level system 
dependent on the degree of risk of re-offense 
by the sex offender: Level I, low risk; Level II, 
moderate risk; Level III, high risk.  Factors 
relevant to the risk of re-offense shall include, 
but not be limited to: criminal history factors 
indicative of a high risk of reoffense; 
conditions of release that minimize risk of 
reoffense; physical conditions that minimize 
risk of re-offense; whether the offender was a 
juvenile when offense was committed, 
response to treatment and subsequent 
criminal behavior; whether psychological or 
psychiatric profiles indicate a risk of 
recidivism; history of drug/alcohol abuse; 
recent behavior; review of victim impact 
statement and review of any materials 
submitted by the offender. 

The sex offender 
registry board 
shall make a 
deter-mination of 
each sex offender 
listed in the 
registry, beginning 
with offenders 
who have been 
released from 
incarceration 
within the past 12 
months, are 
currently on 
parole or 
probation, or are 
scheduled for 
release within 6 
months. 

New 
Hampshire 

Adult sex offenders 
required to register. 

Law enforcement may notify 
organizations in the community where 
an offender intends to reside.  
Organizations include, but are not 
limited to: schools, youth groups, day 
care centers, summer camps, libraries, 
or any other organization where 
children gather and are supervised by 
persons in the organization.  Law 
enforcement may utilize a form 
developed by the department of safety 
for the dissemination of information. 

Law enforcement may provide 
an organization with the 
following information: 
offender�s name and address, 
recent photograph, offense for 
which convicted, method of 
approach, and information on 
the profile of previous victims. 

An offender can file a petition for a qualified 
order with the superior court.  The court shall 
issue a qualified order if the court finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that the 
offender�s risk of re-offending is low.  In 
reaching its finding the superior court may 
consider, but not be limited to: conditions of 
release which minimize the risk of re-
offending; whether the petitioner�s physical 
condition minimizes the risk of re-offending; 
factors present in the petitioner�s criminal 
history; any history of substance abuse; 
response to treatment; and recent behavior. 

Upon conviction. 

Rhode Island Registration required for 
any person who has 
been convicted of a 
criminal offense against 
a victim who is a minor, 
a sexually violent 
offense, or has been 
determined to be a 
sexually violent 
predator; notification 
dependent upon level of 
risk.  Applies to those 
convicted of an offense 
committed after the 
effective date of this act. 

Notification process is dependent upon 
the degree of risk of reoffense by the 
offender: low risk, law enforcement 
agencies likely to encounter the 
registered person shall be notified; 
moderate risk, organizations in the 
community including schools, religious 
and youth organizations likely to 
encounter the registered person shall 
be notified; high risk, members of the 
public likely to encounter the registered 
person shall be notified though means 
in accordance with the notification 
advisory council and attorney general�s 
guidelines. 

Procedures for community 
notification, including content 
and form, to be developed. 

Guidelines for community notification 
established in a three level system 
dependent on the degree of risk of re-offense 
by the sex offender: Level I, low risk; Level II, 
moderate risk; Level III, high risk.  Factors 
relevant to risk of re-offense include, but are 
not limited to: conditions of release that 
minimize risk of re-offense; physical 
conditions that minimize risk of re-offense; 
criminal history factors indicative of high risk 
of re-offense; whether or not psychological or 
psychiatric profiles indicate a risk of 
recidivism; the offender�s response to 
treatment; recent behavior; recent threats 
against persons or expressions of intent to 
commit additional crimes. 

Upon parole. 



 

 

 
Table 1b 

States With Community Notification Laws 
 

State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person 

Alabama The warden of the correctional facility in which the 
offender is incarcerated shall, within 48 hours of an 
offender�s declaration of intended residence, notify 
the Attorney General, the Director of the Department 
of Public Safety, the district attorney and the sheriff of 
the county in which the offender intends to reside, the 
chief of police of any municipality, and the F.B.I. 

The Chief of Police, or county sheriff, shall notify all 
persons, within a designated area of the declared 
residence of the released offender, that the offender 
will be establishing his or her residence in proximity to 
the residents. 

No released sex crime 
offender shall be allowed 
to establish a legal 
residence within 1,000 feet 
of any public or private 
school, day care center, 
any other child care 
facilities, or former victims. 

Ron Cunningham 
Criminal Justice 
Information 
Center 
(205) 242-4900 

Arizona The agency that had custody of the offender must 
complete the risk assessment instrument and send it, 
along with identifying information about the offender, 
and the date of release and sentencing to the 
Department of Public Safety.  Within 10 days after 
release or sentencing, the Department of Public 
Safety must make sure the offender is registered and 
forward the material they received to the sheriff in the 
county where the offender is residing. 

The sheriff of the county in which the offender is 
residing must forward the material received from the 
Department of Public Safety to the chief law 
enforcement officer of the community in which the 
offender is residing unless he or she is that officer.  
Within 45 days of receiving the information about the 
offender, the chief law enforcement officer must 
categorize the offender and place him/her into a 
notification level and make the required notification. 

 Nancy Hughes 
Bureau Administrator in the 
Community Supervision 
section of Community 
Corrections 
Department of Corrections 
(602) 255-4240 

Massachusett
s 

The sex offender registry board shall develop 
guidelines to assess the risk of re-offense by a sex 
offender and shall provide for three levels of 
notification depending on the risk of re-offense.  The 
board shall transmit registration data to the police 
departments where the offender intends to live and 
work and where the offense was committed, and to 
the F.B.I. 

The police department receiving the registration 
information from the sex offender registry board shall 
be required to notify the appropriate organizations or 
individuals in the community in which the offender 
intends to live, work, and where the offense, for which 
registration was required, was committed. 

Level I designation shall be 
final, with no judicial 
review.  A level II or level 
III designation may be 
petitioned by the offender 
in the superior court where 
the offender intends to 
reside. 

Margot Friedman 
Counsel; Senator 
Antonioni 
(617) 722-1230 

New 
Hampshire 

Statewide LENS computer system will maintain list of 
registered sex offenders. 

Offender must register with local law enforcement 
agency, which is responsible for further dissemination 
of information.  Law enforcement notifies community 
organizations of a sex offender within 10 days of 
registration.  Offender petitions must be filed with the 
Merrimack county superior court.  If the court finds by 
clear and convincing evidence that disclosure beyond 
law enforcement is not warranted, the offender�s 
registration information shall be sealed. 

This act is effective August 
2, 1996. 

Wendi Howard 
State Police 
(603) 271-2663 

Rhode Island A notification advisory council is established to 
consult with and provide recommendations to the 
attorney general concerning the guidelines to be 
promulgated for community notification.  The council 
shall consist of 12 members who have a personal 
interest or professional expertise in law enforcement, 
crime prevention, victim advocacy, criminology, 
psychology, parole, public education or community 
relations. 

The parole board and the chief law enforcement 
officer of the city or town in which the convicted 
offender will reside shall develop procedures for 
evaluation of the risk of re-offense and 
implementation of community notification. 

Guidelines to be 
established within six 
months of the appointment 
of the notification 
guidelines council 
members.  

Chris Shaban 
Attorney General�s Office 
(401) 274-4400 

 



 

 

Table 2a 
States That Allow Access to Registration Information 

 

State Offenders Subject to 
Registration 

Registry Type Information Included Who Has Access 

South Carolina A person convicted of a following 
offense: criminal sexual conduct 
in the first, second, third degree 
or assaults with intent to commit; 
criminal sexual conduct with a 
minor in the first or second 
degree; engaging, producing 
directing, or promoting a child for 
sexual performance; incest; 
buggery; eavesdropping or 
peeping; or indecent exposure.  
Applies to persons convicted 
after July 1, 1994. 

Sex offender registry 
maintained on state wide level.  
Registration information 
available at local level. 

Name of the offender, any aliases, date of 
birth, current home address, offense for 
which offender was required to register, 
date, city and state of conviction, and a 
photocopy of a current photograph is 
provided. 

Information collected for the offender registry 
is open to public inspection, upon request to 
the county sheriff.  Request must be made in 
writing, stating the name of the person 
requesting the information, and the name or 
address of the person about whom the 
information is sought.  State level registry can 
only release to the public the name of the 
county in which the offender is registered, if 
the request is made in writing, stating the 
name of the person requesting the 
information, and the name or address of the 
person about whom the information is sought.

Utah Adult sex offenders Sex offender registration 
information maintained on state 
wide level. 

Sex offender�s name and address, physical 
description, type of vehicle, any conditions 
or restrictions of release, current 
photograph, name or telephone number of 
offender�s parole and probation officer, 
crimes charged with and convicted of, 
description of offender�s primary and 
secondary targets, and a description of the 
offender�s method of offense. 

Law enforcement agencies, State Office of 
Education, Department of Corrections, and a 
petitioner pursuant to a petition approved by 
the department.  A petitioner is a person who 
requests in writing for information about a sex 
offender, and is a victim of a sexual offense 
or a resident in a location where a sex 
offender is suspected to reside.  A petition 
must include a return address and telephone 
number. 

Vermont Sex offenders convicted on or 
after July 1, 1996, and sex 
offenders convicted prior to July 
1, 1996, confined under the 
custody of the commissioner of 
corrections, and released from 
confinement on or after July 1, 
1996. 

Sex offender registry 
maintained on state wide level. 

Sex offender�s name, date of birth, general 
physical description, current address, 
Social Security number, fingerprints, 
current photograph, and current 
employment. 

Local, state and federal law enforcement 
agencies, any employer, including a school 
district who is authorized by law to request 
records and information from the criminal 
information center, where such disclosure is 
necessary to protect the public concerning 
persons required to register. 

Wisconsin All individuals who are convicted 
of felony sexual offenses or 
whose offense is determined to 
be sexually motivated. 

Sex offender registry 
maintained on state wide level.  
Registration information also 
available on local level.  There 
will be ongoing direct access to 
the registry through an �800� 
phone line. 

Offender�s name and any aliases, date of 
conviction or commitment, make, model 
and license number of vehicle, supervising 
agency and phone number, and date 
information was last updated. 

Law enforcement, vulnerable agencies such 
as schools, child care centers, foster homes, 
Boy Scouts and Girl Scouts of America, and 
the general public. 

 



 

 

Table 2b 
States That Allow Access to Registration Information 

 

State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person 

South Carolina Statewide sex offender registry is under 
the direction of the chief of the State 
Law Enforcement Division (SLED).  
Department of Corrections or the 
Department of Probation, Parole, and 
Pardon services, as applicable, shall 
notify the sheriff of the county where 
the offender intends to reside and 
SLED that the offender is being 
released. 

The offender shall register with the 
sheriff of the county in which he/she 
resides.  The county sheriff shall then 
forward to SLED the registry 
information and any updated 
information regarding the offender.  A 
copy of this information must be kept 
by the sheriff�s department. 

Any person required to register under 
this statute shall be required to 
register annually for a period of life. 

Capt. Nita Danenburg 
Law Enforcement Division 
(803) 896-7051 

Utah State Department of Corrections (DOC) 
shall develop and operate a system to 
collect, analyze, maintain, and 
disseminate information on sex 
offenders and sex offenses. 

Any law enforcement agency shall 
inform the DOC of a report or complaint 
of a sex offense, an arrest of a person 
suspect of committing a sex offense.  
Upon convicting a person of a sex 
offense, the convicting court shall 
forward a copy of the judgment and 
sentence to the DOC. 

This law is not retroactive.  The DOC 
shall make rules necessary to 
implement this law including: criteria 
for approval of a petition, method of 
dissemination of information, and 
instructions regarding use of 
information by a petitioner. 

Machelle Rodriguez 
Department of Corrections 
(801) 265-5626 

Vermont Department of Public Safety 
established and maintains a statewide 
sex offender registry.  The Department 
of Corrections shall notify the 
Department of Public Safety of sex 
offender�s release or change of 
address.  Upon receipt of information, 
the Department of Public Safety shall 
transmit the conviction data and 
fingerprints to the F.B.I. 

Sentencing court shall forward the sex 
offender�s conviction record, including 
offense, date of conviction, sentence 
and any conditions of release or 
probation to the Department of Public 
Safety. 

Law is effective September 1, 1996. Max Schlueter 
Criminal Information Center, 
Department of Public Safety 
(802) 244-8727 

Wisconsin An �800� phone line will be operated 
state wide.  Department of Corrections 
makes available all information on 
released sex offenders to local law 
enforcement, individual inquiries may 
be made to the department as well.  
Law enforcement can access the sex 
offender registry through the CIB/TIME 
computer access system. 

Local law enforcement maintains 
registration information, inquiries may 
be made by members of the general 
public.  County sheriff or local police 
chief may disseminate additional 
information about a released sex 
offender when deemed necessary. 

The law allows for flexibility and 
discretion for decision making, 
regarding community notification of a 
sex offender, to be made at the 
community level�meaning law 
enforcement and correctional 
officials.  The law does not mandate 
expanded methods (flyers or ads in 
newspapers) of community 
notification. 

Anthony Steveler 
Department of Corrections 
(608) 266-3831 

Special Agent Ron Feurer 
Department of Justice 
(414) 227-2100 
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COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION LEGISLATION UPDATE 
 
 
Alabama:  S. 393 
 
Arizona:  S. 1118 
 
Massachusetts:  H. 5949 
 
New Hampshire:  H. 1543 
 
Rhode Island:  H. 7575 
 
South Carolina:  S. 1286 
 
Utah:  H. 15 
 
Vermont:  S. 217 
 
Wisconsin:  S. 182 


