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BACKGROUND INFORMATION 
 
This report updates the Institute’s 2005 study, 
“Involuntary Commitment of Sexually Violent 
Predators: Comparing State Laws.”1  The 2005 
report covered data through 2004; this report 
extends the timeframe through 2006.  The 
report includes information on the number of 
residents, discharges, and program costs. 
 
In addition to the 17 states covered in the 
previous report, three states have passed 
legislation authorizing civil commitment of 
sexually violent predators (SVPs).  Nebraska 
passed a law in 2006, while New Hampshire 
and New York both passed laws early this year.  
The states with SVP laws are: Arizona, 
California, Florida, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, 
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, 
New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North 
Dakota, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, 
Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.  The 
Texas law is unusual as it does not require 
confinement; instead treatment occurs in an 
outpatient setting.  Pennsylvania’s law is only 
for selected sex offenders who are “aging out” 
of the juvenile justice system at age 21. 
 
To collect data for this report, we asked 
representatives from states to complete 
information on a common template.  Some 
limitations need to be acknowledged.  In many 
cases, the state representative for the 2004 
and 2006 reports differ, thus there could be 
different interpretations of the questions.  It 
was particularly challenging to sort releases in 
relation to program staff recommendations.  
                                                 
1 K. Gookin. (2005). Involuntary commitment of sexually 
violent predators: Comparing state laws. Olympia: 
Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Document 
No. 05-03-1101. 

States do not typically track a reason for every 
discharge and, therefore, had to rely on best 
estimates.  Sometimes a person is discharged for 
more than one reason and, therefore, numbers may 
not add.  In terms of cost information, the full costs 
of a SVP law are difficult to calculate as the 
program’s expenditures are often spread across 
state budgets.  For example, the treatment may be 
supplied by a social and health services agency, 
legal costs paid through another agency, and 
security and supervision supplied by corrections.  In 
some instances, the state representatives were 
unable to estimate all aspects of the costs. 
 
Additionally, in counting individuals in various 
categories (revoked, recommended for release), 
we refined the categories from the previous report 
to reflect the variation in states.  It is difficult, 
however, to capture the full nuances of each 
state’s policies in a spreadsheet format.   
 
 
FINDINGS FOR U.S. 
 
Number of Persons Held Under SVP Laws: 
4,534  
 
Number of Persons Discharged or Released: 
494; an additional 85 persons died while in custody.  
 
Average Annual Program Costs: 
$97,000 per person. 
 
 
WASHINGTON STATE 
 
Number of Persons Held Under SVP Laws: 
305 
 
Annual Program Costs:  
$40.5 million in 2006    
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Exhibit 1 
Sexually Violent Predator Laws: Persons Held Under Law 

WSIPP, 2007 
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Exhibit 2 
2006 Program Overview 

REASONS FOR DISCHARGES AND 
RELEASES OF PEOPLE COMMITTED 

State Code  
(Year Law 
Effective) 

Involved With 
Petition or 

Certification 
for 

Commitment 
Since Law 
Effective 

(Accumulative) 

Discharged 
or Released 
Who Were 
Committed 

(Accumulative, 
Not Including 

Deaths) 

Program 
Staff 

Recommen-
dation 

Court 
Decision 
Without 
Program 

Staff 
Recommen-

dation 

To 
Corrections 

(New 
Charges) Other 

Deaths 
(Accumulative)

Revoked Since 
Release 

(Accumulative)* 
Arizona 
36-3701 et seq. 
(1996) 

414 87 0 86 1 0 3 13 

California 
WIC Section 
6600 et seq. 
(1996) 

558 96 4 74 15 3 15 2 

Florida 
ss394.910-
394.931, Part V 
(1999) 

942 28 1 16 11 0 8 9 

Illinois 
725 ILCS 207/1 
et seq. 
(1988) 

307 40 15 9 16 0 10 6 

Iowa 
229.A1 et seq. 
(1998) 

69 15 5 10 0 0 1 1 

Kansas 
59-29a01 et seq. 
(1994) 

161 16 3 0 0 12 8 0 

Massachusetts  
Part 1 Title XVII, 
Ch. 123A 1 et seq. 
(1998) 

121 5 0 5 0 0 0 N/A 

Minnesota 
253B.185 et seq. 
(1999) 

342 43 27 0 3 13 2 27 

Missouri 
632.480 et seq. 
(1994) 

143 10 0 0 8 2 7 0 

Nebraska 
(2006) 18 18 14 0 4 0 0 0 

New Jersey 
30:4-27.24 et seq. 
(1994) 

342 30 1 27 1 1 2 2 

North Dakota 
25.03-3.01 et seq. 
(1997) 

75 20 14 1 5 0 1 0 

Pennsylvania 
SB421  
(2003) 

12 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

South Carolina 
44-48-10 et seq. 
(1998) 

119 32 16 16 0 0 4 0 

Texas 
Health and 
Safety Code 
841.001 et seq. 
(1999) 

69 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 1 11 



 4 

REASONS FOR DISCHARGES AND 
RELEASES OF PEOPLE COMMITTED 

State Code  
(Year Law 
Effective) 

Involved With 
Petition or 

Certification 
for 

Commitment 
Since Law 
Effective 

(Accumulative) 

Discharged 
or Released 
Who Were 
Committed 

(Accumulative, 
Not Including 

Deaths) 

Program 
Staff 

Recommen-
dation 

Court 
Decision 
Without 
Program 

Staff 
Recommen-

dation 

To 
Corrections 

(New 
Charges) Other 

Deaths 
(Accumulative)

Revoked Since 
Release 

(Accumulative)* 
Virginia 
37.2-900 et seq. 
(2003) 

37 5 N/A N/A N/A N/A None 2 

Washington 
71.09.010 et seq. 
(1990) 

305 19 12 1 2 2 9 4 

Wisconsin 
980.01 et seq. 
(1994) 

500 30 76 8 7 2 14 23 

TOTALS 4,534 494 188 253 73 35 85 100 
         
*Unduplicated count of readmits after discharge because of a new legal process and readmits after discharge to outpatient treatment. 
 
Notes: 
Arizona: By policy, the staff does not make recommendations regarding releases. 
Illinois: Recommendations for discharge/release are made by independent state evaluators, not program staff. 
Massachusetts: Does not have supervised release of an SVP  
Pennsylvania: Program only has "aged-out" juveniles as they turn 21 years old. 
Texas: Outpatient only 
Washington: One additional person is awaiting revocation. 
Wisconsin: Recommends releases, but does not track the specific circumstances and their outcomes. 

 
 
 
The following states’ laws were passed in 2007 and are still being implemented. 

• New Hampshire, RSA 135-E 

• New York, Chapter 7 of S.3318  
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Exhibit 3 
General Cost Information (2006) 

State 
SVP Resident 
Cost Per Year 

Total Civil 
Commitment 

Budget 
(in millions) 

Annual Salary and 
Benefits of 

Treatment Officer 
DOC Inmate 

Cost Per Year 
Arizona $110,000 $11.3 $50,985 $20,564 
California $166,000 $147.3 N/A $43,000 
Florida $41,845 $23.3 N/A $19,000 
Illinois $88,000 $25.6 N/A $21,700 
Iowa $71,000 $5.0 $56,356 $23,002 
Kansas $69,070 $10.9 N/A $22,630 
Massachusetts $73,197 $30.7 N/A $43,026 
Minnesota $141,255 $54.9 N/A $29,240 
Missouri $75,920 $8.3 $25,358 $14,538 
Nebraska $93,325 $13.5 N/A $26,031 
New Jersey $67,000 $21.9 N/A $35,000 
North Dakota $94,728 $12.7 $55,600 $27,391 
Pennsylvania $150,000 $1.8 N/A $32,304 
South Carolina $41,176 $2.9 N/A $15,156 
Texas $17,391 $1.2 N/A $15,527 
Virginia $140,000 $8.2 N/A $23,123 
Washington $149,904 $40.5 $40,228 $29,055 
Wisconsin $102,500 $34.7 N/A $27,600 

AVERAGES $94,017 $25.3  $25,994 
 Total: $454.7   

Notes: 
New Hampshire is in the start-up phase. 
New York is in the start-up phase. 
Pennsylvania has only "aged-out" juveniles as they turn 21 years old.  Their costs for DOC reflect 2004–2005, 
inflated by 3 percent. 
Texas has outpatients only. 

 
 



Exhibit 4 
Detailed Costs 

 
State Treatment 

Security and 
Supervision 

Direct Care 
(food, 

clothing, 
supplies) 

Health 
Care 

Contracted 
Services 

Legal 
Services 
Including 

Prosecutors 
and Defense 

Psycho-
logical 

Evaluations
Trans-

portation 

Capital 
Cost/Debt 

Service 

Adminis-
trative 

Overhead Other  
Arizona N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

California N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Florida N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A $961,263  N/A $0 N/A $600,000 
Illinois N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Iowa $381,169 $3,143,060 $646,650 $24,123 $24,123 N/A N/A $25,623 N/A N/A N/A 

Kansas $2,644,804 $8,039,215 $990,036 $334,628 N/A N/A N/A 
Included in 
other costs N/A 

Included in 
other costs $0 

Massachusetts N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Minnesota N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Missouri $6,253,000
Included in 

treatment costs $605,000 $308,000 $38,510 N/A N/A $6,700 $0 $1,467,312 N/A 

Nebraska $1,818,066 $767,984 $222,863 
Included in 
direct care $0 $0 $86,007 

Included in 
other costs $0 $529,459 $545,456 

New Jersey N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

North Dakota $1,565,798 $125,000 $263,266 $45,375 N/A $25,000 N/A $5,000 $13,503 $798,953 $0 
Pennsylvania N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

South Carolina $41,176 N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Texas 
(Outpatient only) $143,143 $136,350

Included in 
contracts N/A $574,111 N/A $23,384 $78,257 $0 $294,000 $0 

Virginia N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Washington $2,354,118 $10,366,000 $2,883,718 $1,249,898 $5,313,589 $5,471,222 $720,074 $23,000 $0 $809,083 $6,636,298 
Wisconsin N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A 

 
Notes: 
Florida: Outside psychiatric evaluations are included in the daily rate.  Starting in FY06–07, services were phased in beginning with clinical, medical, 
and other residential services, followed by internal security (December 15, 2006), and then transportation and perimeter security (April 2, 3007). 
Minnesota: Will forward detailed cost information as it becomes available. 
Missouri: Administrative Overhead covers staff salaries for administrative persons in the facility.  Accounting, some human resources, and 
maintenance overhead are not included. 
New York: Program not yet begun. 
New Hampshire: Program not yet begun. 
Pennsylvania: Plans to have detailed cost information available in 2008. 
Washington: Costs are for the main facility only and do not include less restrictive facilities. 
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Exhibit 5 
Service and Facility Providers 

State 
Treatment Provider 
(Contractor or State) 

Security Provider 
(Contractor or State) 

Facility 
(Contract or State Owned)

Arizona State State State 

California State 
(DMH) 

DOC 
(perimeter) State 

Florida Contract DOC and GEO State 

Illinois Contract State State 

Iowa State State State 

Kansas State State State 

Massachusetts Contract State State 

Minnesota State State State 

Missouri State State State 

Nebraska State State State 

New Jersey DHS DOC State 

North Dakota State State State 

Pennsylvania State State State 

South Carolina State State State 

Texas Contract N/A 
(outpatient only) 

Contract  
(halfway houses) 

Virginia State State State 

Washington State State State 

Wisconsin State State State 

Note: New Hampshire and New York are still planning for implementation of their recent laws. 
 



 

Exhibit 6 
State Contacts 

State Name Phone Email 
Arizona Dr. Noggle 602-220-6482 Noggled@azdhs.gov 
California Brenda Epperly-Ellis 916-653-2088 Brenda.Epperly-Ellis@dmh.ca.gov 
Florida Teion Wells Harrison 850-921-4490 Teion_Harrison@dcf.state.fl.us 
Illinois Shan Jumper 217-322-3204 ext 5016 Shan.Jumper@illinois.gov 
Iowa Jason Smith 712-225-6948 Jsmith4@dhs.state.ia.us 
Kansas Dr. Leo Herrman  LPH0222@lsh.ks.gov 
Massachusetts Robert Murphy 508-279-8111 RFMurphy@doc.state.ma.us 
Minnesota Thomas Lundquist 218-485-5300 ext 5314 thomas.j.lundquist@state.mn.us 
Missouri Alan Blake 573-218 7079 alan.blake@dmh.mo.gov 
Nebraska Cynthia Dykeman   cynthia.dykeman@hhss.ne.gov 
New Hampshire Geoffrey Souther 603-271-8820 GSouther@dhhs.state.nh.us 
New Jersey Merrill Main  Merrill.Main@dhs.state.nj.us 
New York Rich Miraglia  cofortm@ohm.state.ny.us 
North Dakota Alex Schweitzer 701-253-3964 aschweit@state.nd.us 
Pennsylvania Dr. Vito DonGiovanni 724-675-2001 vdongiovan@state.pa.us 
South Carolina Mark Binkley  MWB86@scdmh.org 
Texas Allison Taylor 512-834-4530 Allison.Taylor@dshs.state.tx.us 
Virginia Dr. Steve Wolf 804-347-8291 steve.wolf@co.dmhmrsas.virginia.gov
Washington Dr. Henry Richards 253-583-5933 richahj@dshs.wa.gov 
Wisconsin Dennis Doren 608-301-1455 dorendm@dhfs.state.wi.us 

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Kathy Gookin, a consultant in Olympia, Washington, prepared this report.  For more information, please 
contact Roxanne Lieb at (360) 586-2768 or liebr@wsipp.wa.gov. 
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