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Executive Summary

The group of laws called “Megan’s Law,” or community notification, authorizes the public
release of identifying information about registered sex offenders when necessary to protect
public safety. This report analyzes the 47 states with community notification laws. The laws
vary in the focus of notification, with three major categories:

Broad community notification: 18 states authorize broad dissemination of sex offender
information to the public.

Notification to individuals and organizations at risk: 14 states disseminate
information based on the need to protect an individual or organization vulnerable to a
specific offender.

Access to registration information: 15 states allow access by citizens or organizations
to sex offender information through local law enforcement.

Almost 70 percent of the states that authorize notification have enacted guidelines and
procedures into law regarding how and when notification shall occur. An additional 20 percent
require advisory groups or criminal justice agencies to establish such procedures. The
remaining states allow public officials to exercise broad discretion in these decisions.

Notification laws have been subject to legal challenges on constitutional grounds in at least 16
states. Most frequently, these challenges have argued that notification represents additional
punishment for the offender and is thus unconstitutional. No court has found these laws to be
unconstitutional in substance; however, procedural provisions such as scope of application,
have been reversed in a few states. The U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals has upheld the
constitutionality of Megan’s Law in three states—New Jersey, New York, and Washington.

Community notification programs have also been implemented in Canada and Great Britain.
In Australia, recommendations for such a program have been proposed. These laws resemble
U.S. notification laws in terms of applicability, decision-making, and approach.

An analysis of state statutes in the United States reveals the following:

RISK ASSESSMENT

Generally, notification is reserved for those offenders assessed as high risk for reoffense or
those convicted of offenses against children.

Ten states assign offenders to one of three tiers of risk for the purpose of community
notification. In these states, offenders assessed as moderate or high risk (Tier Il or 1ll) are
subject to notification.



Many states use risk assessment instruments to determine risk of reoffense and assess
whether an offender should be subject to notification.

METHODS OF NOTIFICATION

Approaches and methods of notification to the general public vary, including the use of
press releases, flyers, and newspaper announcements. Several states are providing
notification through interactive computerized access.

A notification typically includes the offender’'s name, description and/or photograph,
address or approximate address, description of the crime, and the age of the victim.

DECISION-MAKING

State organizations often develop rules and procedures for carrying out community
notification, with local law enforcement agencies generally responsible for the actual
notification.

Many states create advisory bodies to develop guidelines and procedures for the
notification process.

A few states place decision-making with district or sentencing courts.



47 STATES HAVE COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION LAWS OR ALLOW ACCESS TO SEX
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The following states do not have community notification laws and
do not allow access to sex offender registration information:
Kentucky, Nebraska, and New Mexico.



Introduction

In response to horrific crimes committed by repeat sex offenders, legislatures in most states
have enacted laws authorizing public release of identifying information about registered sex
offenders. These laws are collectively known as “Megan’s Law,” or community notification, in
honor of seven-year-old Megan Kanka of New Jersey who was raped and murdered in 1994
by a twice-convicted child molester who lived on her block.

Community notification laws vary in the methods used to inform citizens and which offenders
are subject to notification. In some states, citizens are notified about the release of all sex
offenders from incarceration, or those sex offenders convicted of specific crimes. In other
states, notification is authorized only when it is deemed necessary to protect the public from a
specific offender. In these instances, the offender may be classified as a habitual or predatory
sex offender, and someone who has shown little ability to reform. Several states issue
notification based on an offender’s assessed level of risk to reoffend, reserving notification for
those deemed to be high-risk. Many state laws allow members of the public access to
information upon making a request to law enforcement officials.

In April 1996, an Institute report examined state laws providing some form of community
notification." Since that time, additional states have passed legislation on this topic. This
report updates the description of relevant laws and compares several of their key provisions.

! Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Sex Offender Community Notification: A Review of Laws in 32 States,
Olympia, WA, April 1996.



|. Background

In 1994, Congress passed the Jacob Wetterling Act® (Title XVII of the Violent Crime Control
and Law Enforcement Act of 1994) requiring states to create registries of offenders convicted
of sexually violent offenses or crimes against children and to establish more rigorous
registration requirements for highly dangerous sex offenders (“sexually violent predators”).
The Act further requires offenders to verify their addresses annually for ten years, and requires
sexually violent predators to verify on a quarterly basis for life. States that have not complied
with the Jacob Wetterling Act’s provisions by September 1997 are subject to a mandatory ten
percent reduction of Byrne formula grant funding.® These funds will be reallocated to states
that are in compliance. States that are showing a “good faith effort” to reach compliance may
be granted an additional two years.* Federal guidelines further interpret the law and offer
guidance on how to comply with the Act.®

When passed in 1994, the Jacob Wetterling Act allowed states discretion in deciding whether
to release relevant registration information to the public when necessary for the public’s
protection. Congress amended the Act in May 1996, with Megan’s Law:®

A designated state or local law enforcement agency “...shall release relevant
information that is necessary to protect the public concerning a specific person
required to register...”

Megan’s Law allows states discretion to make judgments in determining if disclosure of
information is necessary for public protection and in specifying standards and procedures for
making these determinations. States are also allowed to make judgments concerning the
threat an offender may pose to the public and to release information for all offenders or
offenders convicted of specific offenses. When releasing information, states may choose an
active dissemination approach, or make the information accessible to the public on request.

Megan’s Law carries the same compliance deadline and consequences as the Jacob
Wetterling Act.

Additional federal legislation, the Pam Lychner Sexual Offender Tracking and Identification Act,
was passed in October 1996." The Lychner Act directs the Federal Bureau of Investigation
(FBI) to establish a national database of sex offenders within three years. The Act will assist
law enforcement agencies in tracking sex offenders when they move in or out of a state.

2In 1989, an armed, masked man abducted 11-year-old Jacob Wetterling near his home in St. Joseph, Minnesota.
Jacob Wetterling is still missing.

% The Edward Byrne Memorial State and Local Law Enforcement Assistance Programs, 42 U.S.C. § 3750. The
purpose of the grant is to help states improve criminal justice records, curb motor vehicle thefts and the related
violence, and improve functioning of the criminal justice system with an emphasis on violent crime and serious
offenders.

* The U.S. House of Representatives passed House Resolution 1683 on September 23, 1997, which would give states
until October 4, 1999 to comply with the Jacob Wetterling Act’s provisions.

3 Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General, Final Guidelines for Megan’s Law and the Jacob Wetterling
Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, RIN 1105-AA50.

® pub. L. No. 104-145, 110 Stat. 1345.

" pam Lychner was a victims’ rights advocate killed in the crash of TWA flight 800 in July 1996.



Currently, 47 states have passed Megan’s Laws. Washington State enacted the first of
these laws in 1990. Between 1990 and 1994, five additional states enacted community
notification laws. A period of intense activity followed the passage of the Jacob Wetterling
Act, with 21 states passing legislation in 1994 and 1995. Since the federal passage of
Megan's Law (1996), 20 additional states have enacted community notification legislation.
While community notification laws were created in the 1990s, sex offender registration laws
have existed for many years; California has the nation’s oldest law, passed in 1947—
retroactive to 1944."

Figure 1 (below) charts the growth by year of states enacting registration and community
notification laws.

Figure 1: Number of States Enacting Sex Offender Community
Notification and Registration Laws in the United States, by Year
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Community notification programs have also been implemented in Canada and the United
Kingdom. In Australia, a recent commission on police corruption recommended such a law.
Many similarities exist between these and United States’ procedures for community
notification programs, including applicability, decision-making, and approach.

! Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Sex Offender Registration: A Review of State Laws, Olympia, WA, July
1996.



Il. Three Categories of Notification Laws

The state laws regarding notification vary in form and function. They can be divided into three
categories, organized principally by the degree of notification.’

BROAD COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION

These states authorize broad dissemination of relevant information to the public regarding
designated sex offenders. Eighteen states provide this type of notification.” The process for
determining which offenders should be subject to notification differs from state to state.

Of the eighteen states in this group, three issue notifications for all sex offenders convicted of
specific offenses: Alabama, Louisiana, and Texas. In these states, public officials do not
exercise discretion regarding notification decisions. The remaining fifteen states notify the
public regarding those released sex offenders who are determined to pose a risk to reoffend.
Various approaches are used to assess an offender’s risk.

States use numerous methods for releasing information, including the telephone, CD-ROM,
the Internet, and notices in newspapers.

NOTIFICATION TO INDIVIDUALS AND ORGANIZATIONS AT RISK

These states provide more limited notification, with the release of information based on a need
to protect an individual or vulnerable organization from a specific sex offender.

Fourteen states provide this type of notification.** Local law enforcement officials generally
determine which individuals are at risk. Organizations typically notified are child care facilities,
religious organizations, public and private schools, and other entities that provide services to
children or vulnerable populations.

Connecticut and lllinois issue information when it is deemed necessary to protect a person
from a specific offender, with local law enforcement agencies making the decision. The lllinois
Department of State Police, or local law enforcement agencies also issue information to
schools and child care facilities.

New York issues information dependent upon an offender’s level of risk, relying on a risk
assessment instrument. Those assessed as moderate or high risk may be subject to
notification.

® Information was collected from May to September 1997 from states known to have sex offender community
notification laws. Information was collected through telephone interviews, fax transmissions, and mailings. Informants
were administrators, legislative research staff, legal counsel, and law enforcement officials, as appropriate.

10 Alabama, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, New
Jersey, Ohio, Oregon, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming.

1 Arkansas, Connecticut, Georgia, lllinois, Indiana, lowa, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New York, Oklahoma,
Pennsylvania, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.



Georgia and Pennsylvania issue notifications to organizations providing services to children.
Indiana notifies all schools, state agencies that license individuals working with children, the
state department of personnel, and licensed child care facilities.

ACCESS TO REGISTRATION INFORMATION

States in this category allow access to sex offender information by citizens or community
organizations through their county sheriff or local police department.

Fifteen states allow such access.” In most of these states, local law enforcement officials
maintain a registry of sex offenders residing within their jurisdiction. Some are open to public
inspection, others are open only to citizens at risk from a specific offender (generally
determined by proximity to an offender’s residence), and still others are open only to
community organizations such as schools, licensed child care facilities, and religious
organizations.

Some states allow access to a statewide registration database. Colorado and North Dakota
allow a requester to view registration information when demonstrating a need to know. Virginia
limits access exclusively to schools and agencies that provide services to children.

12 Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, North Dakota, South
Carolina, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.



lll. Implementing Notification Laws

Broad variation can be found among states in the mechanisms for decision-making and
implementation of community notification laws. Some statutes explicitly define the key
elements of the notification process, while others allow law enforcement to release “relevant
and necessary” information. The elements of notification that are included in statutes vary, but
can include:

Procedures or guidelines for agencies to follow when performing a notification.
Categories of offenders that are subject to notification.

Scope, form, and content of notification.

Designation of an agency to perform the notification.

Many statutes assign responsibilities to more than one organization.

Although no two state statutes are identical, many share commonalties. For instance, the
majority of states define some of their procedures for notification in statute. Many states also
classify which offenders are subject to notification in statute, as well as who is to be notified
and how. Local law enforcement is responsible for carrying out the notification in all but five
states.”

Figure 2 (page 9) outlines the principle variations in notification for the 18 states that provide
broad community notification and the 14 states that provide notification to individuals and
organizations at risk.

APPROACH TO NOTIFICATION

This section summarizes the state statutes in terms of major decision points. The overlap in
categories requires describing some state’s statutes in more than one topic area. Appendix A
analyzes each state statute in detail.

Legislative Direction:

In order to increase uniformity, states often develop procedures or guidelines for decision-
making. These procedures involve targeting offenders for notification, determining who in the
community should be notified, and specifying how they should be notified. The majority of
states promulgate some, if not all of these features, into legislation. For example, Alabama
and Texas statutes identify procedures for notification, including which offenders are subject to
notification, which law enforcement agencies are responsible for carrying out the notification,
who in the community should be notified, and the form and content of the notification. Most
state statutes are not this specific.

13 llinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Montana, and West Virginia.



Law Enforcement Discretion:

Two states allow law enforcement agencies broad discretion throughout the notification
process. In Connecticut and Tennessee, local law enforcement agencies are notified by an
offender’s releasing agency when that offender intends to reside in the agency’s jurisdiction.
Local law enforcement then determines, based on information forwarded by the releasing
agency (e.g., department of corrections, sentencing court, or probation/parole officer), whether
the offender poses a significant risk to that community.

Advisory Groups:

Several states rely on committees or advisory groups to develop guidelines and procedures
for the notification process, typically in conjunction with criminal justice agencies.™ In Nevada,
the state’s Attorney General, together with an Advisory Council for Community Notification,
have created guidelines. The Advisory Council consists of three members appointed by the
governor and four members appointed by the legislative commission. Arizona created the Sex
Offender Community Notification Guideline Committee to perform specific tasks, including:
developing the notification process and guidelines; developing an assessment instrument to
categorize the risk of sex offenders; developing the statutory changes necessary to implement
notification; and identifying and documenting the resource and staff needs required.

Criminal Justice Agencies:

Some states appoint existing criminal justice agencies to develop guidelines. In New York, the
Division of Criminal Justice Services developed guidelines. In Ohio, the state’s attorney
general was responsible for promulgating rules and procedures for notification. The latest
revision to Washington State’s community notification law calls for the Washington Association
of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs to develop guidelines for notification after an offender’s risk has
been determined.

14 Arizona, Arkansas, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Nevada, and Rhode Island.



FIGURE 2: Implementing Community Notification Laws:
State Variations
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IDENTIFYING OFFENDERS FOR NOTIFICATION

Legislative Direction:

The majority of state statutes define the population of offenders that are subject to community
notification as those convicted of a sexually violent offense or a sexual offense against a victim
who is a minor. In most states, community notification is not mandatory for these offenders. In
addition to the qualifying offense, offenders’ records are assessed to determine whether they
pose a significant risk to reoffend. Some statutes authorize community notification for a
category of sex offenders, such as all individuals who commit a certain type of offense or
whose victim is under a certain age.

Because notification laws typically concern offenders who are being released from custody,
paroled, or placed on probation by the sentencing court, the question of retroactive application
of the law has been an issue in several states. In some states, the relevant populations are
offenders convicted after the law’s effective date—others apply their laws retroactively to all
appropriate offenders, regardless of adjudication date.

At least 19 states subject juvenile sex offenders to registration and/or community notification
(see Figure 3, below). In New York, juveniles are subject to registration provisions, but that
information may not be shared outside criminal justice agencies. South Dakota’s statute
applies to adult sex offenders and juveniles 15 years or older. In Virginia, juveniles are subject
to the law if convicted in a circuit court, whether sentenced as an adult or juvenile.

FIGURE 3: States Subjecting Juvenile
Sex Offenders to Registration and/or Community Notification

» California: Broad Public Notification » New York: Registration (Information only

. . . available to other criminal justice agencies
» Colorado: Registration (Sexually violent J g )

predator status not applicable to juveniles) » North Carolina: Registration (applies to
juveniles age 12-15, beginning in 1999)

» Rhode Island: Broad Public Notification

> Delaware: Broad Public Notification
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be a sexually violent predator through court » South Carolina: Registration
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Individuals at Risk . L
Texas: Broad Public Notification

Massachusetts: Broad Public Notification _ . . . L
Virginia: Registration (If convicted in circuit

Michigan: Registration courts, whether sentenced as adults or

. . . - juveniles)
Minnesota: Registration (Limited)

L . . ) o Washington: Broad Public Notification
Mississippi: Registration ( If twice adjudicated

for any sex offense) Wisconsin: Notification to Organizations or

Individuals at Risk

New Jersey: Broad Public Notification
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Law Enforcement Discretion:

In many states, local law enforcement makes the final decision on notification. Generally, law
enforcement officials have broad discretion in making this decision. In most cases, local law
enforcement officials rely on information forwarded by the offender’s releasing agency to make
the decision. This information can include offense history, patterns of abuse, response to
treatment (if given) while incarcerated, and a variety of other personal information.

Risk Assessment:

Many states assess the risk of an individual offender before notification. Some states use
formal assessment instruments while others enlist the help of advisory committees. A few
states require the sentencing court to assess risk.

Risk assessment instruments are used in at least ten states to systematically categorize an
offender’s level of risk to reoffend.” These instruments consist of scales that assign point
values to various behaviors and past offenses. Offenders scoring a certain point total are
subject to community notification. In New York, an offender’s level of risk (Tiers I, 1l, or 1) is
measured by an objective assessment instrument. The instrument assigns point values to risk
factors, including current offense, criminal history, post-offense behavior, and planned release
environment. In Nevada, a weighted community notification assessment scale is used to place
an offender in a notification tier (I, 1l, or lll). The assessment scale utilizes criteria intended to
identify repetitive and compulsive offenders, including seriousness of offense, criminal history,
characteristics of offender, and community support. In weighing the criteria, offense items are
given the most weight.

At least five states enlist committees for the purpose of assessing an offender’s level of risk to
reoffend in the community.”® These committees typically assess risk prior to an individual’s
release from incarceration. Information obtained in the assessment is forwarded to local law
enforcement agencies for the purpose of notification. Typically with this approach, an offender
is subjected to risk assessment and assigned to one of three tiers of risk: Tier I, low risk to
reoffend; Tier Il, moderate risk to reoffend; Tier Ill, high risk to reoffend.

In Minnesota, End-of-Confinement Review Committees assess risk on a case-by-case basis at
each state correctional facility and at each state treatment facility where sex offenders are
confined. Each committee consists of the following members appointed by the state’s
Commissioner of Corrections: the chief executive officer or head of the correctional or
treatment facility where the offender is confined; a law enforcement officer; a treatment
professional trained in the assessment of sex offenders; a caseworker experienced in
supervising sex offenders; and a representative from a victim advocacy organization. In
Washington, an End-of-Sentence Review Committee assesses an individual’s risk to reoffend
prior to release from the state’s Department of Corrections. This information is then forwarded
to local law enforcement, who make the determination to notify the community. The
Committee is composed of representatives from the Department of Corrections, and from the
juvenile corrections and mental health divisions of the Department of Social and Health
Services.

15 Arizona, Delaware, Maine, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Pennsylvania.
16 Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New York, and Washington.

11



Courts:

In some states, courts determine which offenders qualify for community notification. Florida
and Pennsylvania courts assess offender’s risk at sentencing. In these states, when an
offender is convicted of a sexually violent offense, the sentencing court conducts a risk
assessment to determine whether an offender is a sexually violent predator. If found to meet
the criteria, the offender is subject to notification upon release from confinement.

Montana and Wyoming district courts perform risk assessment upon an offender’s release
from custody. In these states, a specific government representative can request an order
allowing the release of information to the public about offenders who may pose a threat.
Montana’s Department of Corrections and Human Services can petition the court for an order
to release information prior to a sex offender’s release. In Wyoming, a district attorney files the
petition.

When making the determination, the court considers all relevant evidence when assessing the
offender’s risk, typically including information about: the relationship between the offender and
the victim; the involvement of a weapon, violence, or the threat of violence in the offense; the
circumstances surrounding prior sexual or violent offenses; any evidence that indicates a risk
of recidivism; a response to treatment; and the recent behavior of the offender.

DETERMINING THE SCOPE OF NOTIFICATION

Legislative Direction:

In a few states, the statute spells out the geographic vicinity for notification. In Alabama, the
extent of notification is dependent upon population density in the area of an offender’s
residence. In major cities, notification is provided to citizens with residences within 1,000 feet
of an offender, in municipalities with a population less than 5,000, notification is provided to all
those with residences within 2,000 feet of an offender. In Louisiana, notice is given by mail to
at least one person in every residence and business within a one-mile radius of the offender’s
residence in a rural area and three square blocks in an urban area.

Law Enforcement Discretion:

Most states allow law enforcement agencies discretion in determining the form, content, and
geographic scope of a notification. In these instances, statutes authorize the release of
“relevant and necessary” information.

12



Guidelines:

Many states that have developed guidelines for notification use a three-tiered approach when
releasing information.”” Law enforcement, following guidelines, release information dependent
upon the tier of risk:

Tier | (low risk): Information may be shared with other law enforcement agencies
and any victim or witness to the offense.

Tier Il (moderate risk): Includes the activities listed above, but in addition, schools,
child care centers, family day care providers, businesses, organizations, and
community groups may be notified of an offender’s release.

Tier Il (high risk): In addition to the actions above, members of the public who are
likely to encounter the offender are notified.

Washington was the first state to adopt a three-tiered approach to community notification.

Criminal Justice Agencies:

A few states charge criminal justice agencies with setting state policy on notification
procedures. New Jersey county prosecutors, in consultation with local law enforcement,
determine who should be notified in a community, and how. State Departments of Corrections
in Montana and Wisconsin are responsible for these determinations. In Oregon, the scope of
notification is dependent upon the offender’s probation/parole officer’s discretion and the
population density in the area that the offender resides.

CONDUCTING THE NOTIFICATION

Local Law Enforcement:

In almost every state, local law enforcement officials notify the appropriate organizations and
individuals. Typical methods of notification include press releases, flyers distributed
throughout neighborhoods, ads in newspapers, and direct mailings to the offender’s
neighbors. Minnesota and Washington law enforcement officials conduct community meetings
to augment the release of sex offender information. The meetings are usually structured to
include information about the offender, sex offenders in general, and techniques to protect
children and the general community from sex offenders.™®

Offender:

In Louisiana, the offender is required to place an ad in a local newspaper and mail the
notification to neighbors and the superintendent of the school district in which the offender
intends to reside.

1 Arizona, Delaware, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Washington, and
Wyoming.

18 Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Community Notification in Washington State: 1996 Survey of Law
Enforcement, Olympia, WA, November 1996.

13



Criminal Justice Agencies:

In lllinois and West Virginia, the state police and local law enforcement are responsible for
notifying the appropriate parties. The Montana Department of Corrections notifies the
community when a district court deems it necessary. The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute
issues notification to statutorily defined organizations at risk from a specific offender. In
Oregon, a parole or probation officer supervising an offender conducts the notification.

ACCESSING REGISTRATION INFORMATION

Almost every state maintains a central registry, listing all registered sex offenders within the
state. In addition to, or in lieu of notification, many states allow members of the public access
to these registries. In these instances, information can be accessed in a variety of ways:
telephone, computer, written request, or by reviewing the registry at a local law enforcement
office.

Some states allow any citizen to view sex offender registries, while others only allow access to
organizations that provide services to women, children, or vulnerable populations. States may
require the citizen or organization seeking information to provide the name or description of
the individual for whom information is sought. If a state’s sex offender registry is centrally
located, an individual may be required to request information in writing or pay a fee to receive
the information.

In some states, law enforcement place restrictions on individuals consulting a registry. In
these instances, an individual may not be allowed to further disseminate information. In South
Carolina, requests to view the registry must be made in writing, stating the name of the person
requesting the information and the name or address of the person about whom the information
is sought. Only one name is allowed per request. Law enforcement can only release
information to the public living in the county in which the offender is registered.

A few states have dedicated telephone lines that allow the public to call and inquire about
offenders residing in their neighborhoods. California, Florida, New York, and Wisconsin
maintain telephone lines that the public may call to inquire whether individuals are registered
sex offenders. Typically, the caller must provide identifying information about the person in
guestion and about himself or herself before the information can be released. California and
New York phone lines are “900” numbers, requiring the caller to pay a fee for access. Florida
and Wisconsin phone lines are “800” numbers, free of charge.

In some states, interactive computer access, through the World Wide Web or CD-ROM, is a
way members of the public can access sex offender information. Florida posts lists of resident
sexual predators on the World Wide Web." Here, a person can find pictures, addresses, and
other identifying information about sexual predators. Kansas has a similar Web site where the
public can search for registered sex offenders by name, county, city, and zip code.” Alaska
and Indiana sex offender registries are also available and searchable on the Web.?* Specific

9 Florida: http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/
% Kansas: http:/iwww.ink.org/public/kbi/
2L Alaska: http://www.state.ak.us/, Indiana: http://www.state.in.us/acin/cji/
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counties in Georgia, Michigan, and Oregon release information on registered sex offenders
over the Web.? California’s Department of Justice provides a CD-ROM containing a list of all
registered sex offenders to local law enforcement agencies throughout the state for public
viewing.

CHALLENGING NOTIFICATION DECISIONS

At least eleven states allow an offender to contest the decision subjecting them to notification.”
In these instances, an offender can petition a court for a hearing or seek administrative review
of the decision. At the court hearing, the offender has the right to be present, to present
testimony, to call and cross-examine witnesses, and to be represented by counsel.

In July 1995, the New Jersey Supreme Court upheld the state’s notification statute,
determining it to be constitutional as long as sex offenders facing notification had a chance to
exercise their right to contest the decision in court:

“...those subject to the statue are entitled to the protection of procedures
designed to assure that the risk of reoffense and the extent of notification are
fairly evaluated before Tier Il or Tier Il notification is implemented.”
Furthermore, “we have concluded that judicial review through summary
proceeding should be available prior to notification if sought by any person
covered by the law.”

In Texas, an offender may petition the district court for a hearing to restrain local law
enforcement from publishing a notice in a newspaper. The hearing centers on whether the
notification would place the person’s health and well being in immediate danger. In
Massachusetts, an offender assessed as Tier | is not able to contest his or her designation.
However, a Tier Il or Ill offender can petition the superior court for review of the decision.

2 Georgia: http://www.oconeesheriff.org/SEXOFF.html, Michigan: http://www.mlive.com/news/crimes,
Oregon: http://www.peak.org/benton-county/sheriff/corrections/sonote.htm

z Florida, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, Washington,
and West Virginia.
% Doe v. Poritz, 662 A.2d 367 (NJ 1995).
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V. Legal Challenges

The central constitutional challenge to community notification law is whether the burden
imposed by the law constitutes punishment for the offender. These challenges have primarily
focused on the ex post facto nature of many laws, in that they retroactively apply to offenders
convicted before the statute was enacted. Other challenges have argued that these laws
violate prohibitions of cruel and unusual punishment, double jeopardy, or failure to provide
adequate due process.® These laws have been challenged in at least 16 states.”

Three United States Circuit Courts of Appeals have recently upheld the retroactive provisions
of New Jersey, New York, and Washington notification laws. To date, these are the highest
federal courts to rule on the constitutionality of Megan’s Law.”

Courts have generally found that Megan’s Laws are constitutional and that their principal
purpose is regulatory in nature and not punitive. Courts have further stated that the primary
concern of these statutes is protecting the public. Portions of notification laws, such as
procedural mechanisms and retroactive application, are most susceptible to challenges in
state and federal courts.?®

The following sections provide a more detailed discussion of the legal challenges to community
notification laws in various states.

RETROACTIVITY

Many states apply their community notification laws to offenders who committed their crimes
prior to the law’s enactment. Some laws apply to sex offenders who were incarcerated, or
under state’s custody, at the time of enactment. The retroactive application of laws in lowa,
Kansas, Louisiana, New York, New Jersey, Oregon, Texas, and Washington resulted in legal
challenges. Results of these challenges have varied, with most laws being upheld and a few
being reversed. The actions in various states are described below.

New Jersey courts have issued contradictory rulings on the subject of retroactivity.* In 1995,
the New Jersey Supreme Court upheld the state’s retroactive Megan’s Law.*® The court based
its decision on the regulatory nature of the law. The court further stated that without
retroactivity the law would not apply for many years when currently sentenced offenders are
released into the community. Also in 1995, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
struck down a district court injunction against retroactive application of notification for Tier Il

% Daniel L. Feldman, The “Scarlet Letter Laws” of the 1990s: A Response to Critics, 60 Albany Law Review 1081-
1125 (1997).
% Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, lllinois, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York,
North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Tennessee, Washington, and Wyoming.
2" Jennifer Preston, U.S. Court Upholds ‘Megan’s Law’ in Split Ruling, The New York Times, August 21, 1997.
%8 National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, The Legal Validity and Policy Concerns Associated with
Community Notification for Sex Offenders, Arlington, VA, February 1997.
2 peter Finn, Sex Offender Community Notification, Research in Action (National Institute of Justice, Washington,
D.C.), February 1997.

Doe v. Poritz.
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and Ill offenders.*® However, the court upheld the constitutionality of retroactive Tier |
notification. In July 1996, the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey upheld the
retroactive application of Tier Il and Il notifications as constitutional.** Upon appeal of that
decision, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit issued a ruling in August 1997,
upholding Tier Il and Il notifications on retroactive cases.*®

Washington State’s community notification provision has also been challenged under
retroactive application. In 1994, Washington State’s Supreme Court found that the burden of
registration and notification must rise to the level of punishment to violate the ex post facto
clause of the constitution.** Also, a Washington State appellate court pronounced the state’s
sex offender registration and community notification laws regulatory in character.®*® In both
cases, the courts further stated that any resulting stigma or suspicions are based on the
offender’s past crimes, not the registration or notification requirements. Recently, the U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit upheld a challenge to the retroactive application of the
state’s law.*

Portions of Louisiana’s community notification statute have been found unconstitutional based
on retroactive application. Louisiana’s statute is one of the broadest in the nation, requiring
every released sex offender to notify the neighborhood at his or her own expense and
obligation. The law has been challenged several times, and its retroactive application was
found unconstitutional in 1994, with regard to the broadest notification provisions.*

In 1996, the Supreme Court of Kansas determined that the state’s notification law was punitive
due to its very broad scope of application.®® As a result of this decision, the statute’s
retroactive application was changed. Now public access is limited by the date an offense was
committed and by offense type. For example, an offender convicted of rape on or after April
14, 1994, must register and such registration becomes public record. However, an offender
convicted of sexual battery on or after April 14, 1994, must register but the information is not
public unless the date of offense occurred on or after July 1, 1997.

Challenges to the retroactive application of lowa, Oregon, and Texas community notification
laws have been upheld.* An injunction against the retroactive provision of New York’s statute
was issued in 1996.* Upon appeal of that decision, in August 1997 the U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Second Circuit upheld the constitutionality of the retroactive provisions of New York’s
Megan’s Law.*

81 Artway v. Attorney General, 872 F.Supp. 66 (D. NJ 1995).
32 \W.P. v. Poritz, 931 F.Supp. 1199 (D. NJ 1996).
% E.B. v. Verniero, 1997.C03.206 (http://www.versuslaw.com).
% State v. Ward, 869 P.2d 1062 (WA 1994).
% State v. Taylor, 835 P.2d 245 (WA App. 1992).
% Russell/Stearns v. Gregoire, 1997.C09.1471 (http://www.versuslaw.com).
37 State v. Babin, 637 So.2d 814 (LA Ct. App. 1994). See also: State v. Linson, 1995 LA App. LEXIS 865; and State v.
Calhoun, 1996 LA App. LEXIS 456.
% State v. Myers, 923 P.2d 1024 (KS 1996).
% State v. Pickens, 1997 lowa Sup. LEXIS 27; Williford v. Bd. of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision, 904 P.2d 1074
Sg)R App. 1995); Perez v. Texas, 1997 Texas App. LEXIS 332.
Doe v. Pataki, 919 F. Supp. 691 (S.D.N.Y. 1996), see also: Doe v. Pataki Il, 940 F. Supp. 603 (S.D.N.Y. 1996).
*I Doe v. Pataki, Nos. 96-6249 (L), 96-6269 (2d Cir. Aug. 22, 1997).
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CRUEL AND UNUSUAL PUNISHMENT

Most courts have held that registration and notification laws are not punishment under the
Eighth Amendment provision against cruel and unusual punishment. For example, in 1991 the
lllinois Supreme Court reasoned that the offender’s criminal history is public information, so no
additional stigmatization is attached to registration or community notification, and therefore is
not considered punishment under the Eighth Amendment.”” California courts do consider
registration as punishment, but not “cruel and unusual” punishment prohibited by the
constitution.*

OTHER LEGAL ISSUES

Notification laws have also been challenged on other fronts, namely privacy issues and due
process. Most right to privacy challenges have failed because community notification bulletins
include information that is public record. Due process challenges generally arise because
offenders may not have knowledge of their obligations under sex offender statutes at the time
of a plea. Washington’s Supreme Court reasoned that there is no constitutional requirement
to advise the defendant of the registration requirement at the time of the guilty plea.*

Legal challenges have led to the clarification of certain aspects of Megan’s Laws in New
Jersey and Washington. In 1995, a New Jersey Supreme Court ruling upheld the
constitutionality of Megan’s Law and set the following standard for notification:

“For Tier Il notification, only those community organizations that own or operate
an establishment where children gather under their care, or where women are
cared for, shall qualify, and only those that are likely to encounter the offender,”
and “As for the manner and extent of notification under Tier Ill, likely to
encounter clearly includes the immediate neighborhood of the offender’s
residence and not just the people next door. It presumably would include (since
Tier 1l includes Tier Il notification) all schools within the municipality, adjacent
municipalities depending upon their distance from the offender’s residence,
place of work, or school.”®

Similarly, in Washington State a 1994 Supreme Court ruling set the following parameters for
determining which offenders should be subject to notification:

A disclosing agency or official “...must have some evidence of an offender’s
future dangerousness, likelihood of reoffense, or threat to the community, to
justify disclosure to the public in a given case. This statutory limit ensures that
disclosure occurs to prevent future harm, not to punish past offenses.”®

*2 people v. Adams, 581 N.E.2d 637 (IL 1991).

43 People v. King, 20 Cal.Rptr.2d 220 (CA Ct. App. 1993).

* State v. Ward.

** Doe v. Poritz.

“% State v. Ward:; see also State v. Taylor and In re Estavillo, 69 Wn. App 401, review denied, 122 Wn.2d 1003 (1993).
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In determining what information to disclose, Washington’s Supreme Court set the standard as
“relevant and necessary.”

“This standard imposes an obligation to release registrant information
reasonably necessary to counteract the danger created by the particular
offender. An agency must disclose only that information relevant to and
necessary for counteracting the offender’s dangerousness.™’

7 Ibid.
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V. Sexually Violent Predators

The Jacob Wetterling Act requires states to provide more stringent registration requirements to
a sub-class of highly dangerous offenders determined to be “sexually violent predators.”
These requirements include registering for life and verifying addresses every 90 days. States
may apply these more stringent requirements to all sex offenders required to register to help
comply with the Act.

Guidelines™ for implementation of the Jacob Wetterling Act suggest that the sentencing court
make the determination of whether a person is a sexually violent predator either at the time of
sentencing or upon release from a term of imprisonment. The court should make its decision
after receiving a report by a state board composed of experts in the field of the behavior and
treatment of sexual offenders. A state board can be a body or group containing two or more
experts that is authorized by state law or designated under the authority of state law. The Act
affords state discretion concerning the selection and composition of such boards.

Some states utilize these assessment boards to help sentencing courts make the sexually
violent predator determination. Others use risk assessment instruments to make the
determination.

Sentencing courts in Pennsylvania enlist the evaluation expertise of the Sexual Offender
Assessment Board, a statewide board that requires at least two state appointed psychiatrists
or psychologists to conduct independent risk assessment evaluations. These evaluations are
then submitted to the court for its determination. Risk assessment includes a review of factors
such as the offender’s age, prior criminal history, demonstrated pattern of abuse in sexual
contact with the victim, display of unusual cruelty, use of illegal drugs, mental illness or mental
disability, and behavioral characteristics that contribute to conduct.

Some states use a formal risk assessment instrument in their determination. In Oregon, prior
to an offender’s release the Department of Corrections uses the state’s Sex Offender Risk
Assessment Scale to determine if an offender exhibits predatory characteristics. An offender
is considered predatory if he/she receives a score on a minimum of three of nine specific
criteria on the risk assessment scale, or is otherwise determined predatory by the supervising
agency or the Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision. These criteria are: history of sex
offense convictions; offense characteristics such as familiarity to the victim, multiple victims,
use of weapons, threats or coercion; predatory behavior; forcible rape; men who molest boys
(multiple male victims); and prior non-sexual criminal history such as the use of a weapon
during commission of the offense.

The federal provisions allow states to impose these more stringent registration requirements

on a broader class of offenders. If a state elects this approach, it is not necessary for the state
to have sexually violent predator determinations made by the sentencing court, or to constitute
boards of experts to advise the courts in such determinations.”® For example, Hawaii requires

48 Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General, Final Guidelines for Megan’s Law and the Jacob Wetterling
Eigrimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act, RIN 1105-AA50.
Ibid.
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all offenders convicted of a sexually violent offense or a criminal offense against a victim who
is a minor (offenses defined in statute) to register their addresses every 90 days for life.

The duration of the registration requirement for a sexually violent predator may terminate only
upon the sentencing court determining that the offender no longer suffers from a mental
abnormality or personality disorder that makes him or her likely to engage in a predatory
sexually violent offense. States are allowed discretion in determining a time interval for review
of a sexually violent predator’s status. Typically, states require five- or ten-year intervals
before the sentencing court entertains a request for review.
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VI. Notification Programs in Other Countries

Many countries have legislation outlining penalties for sex offenders, but few require
registration and community notification. British Parliament passed the Sex Offenders Act in
March 1997, and issued guidelines for community notification in the United Kingdom. Canada
has been notifying communities about released sex offenders since 1994. In Australia, a royal
commission recently recommended that police register convicted pedophiles and notify
government officials and community groups of their presence. The following section provides
a brief analysis of these laws and programs.

UNITED KINGDOM

In March 1997, the British Parliament enacted the Sex Offender Act.® The Act requires
offenders who have committed sexual offenses against children to register with police
authorities throughout the United Kingdom. The Act further requires these offenders to notify
the police of a change of address or name. The Home Office was charged with developing
guidelines for disclosure of sex offender information to the public. The Home Office is the
Government department responsible for governmental internal affairs in England and Wales.
Home Office Minister Alun Michael published guidelines on August 11, 1997.*" These
guidelines outline how and when information should be disclosed by the police to community
members and organizations.*

Guidelines state that information required under the Sex Offenders Act is to be used for the
protection of children and vulnerable adults:

“Within that context, any disclosure decision should be based on a risk
assessment of the individual committing an offense and the vulnerability of a
child or children, or other persons at risk.”

As a general principle, disclosure to the general public should occur only under exceptional
circumstances.

According to guidelines, the assessment is to consider the nature and pattern of previous
offending, compliance with previous sentences or court orders, the probability that further
offenses will be committed, any predatory behavior which indicates a likelihood of reoffense,
the harm such offenses would cause, the potential objects of the harm, the potential effects of
disclosure to the offender and his or her family, and the potential effects of disclosure in the
wider context of law and order.

0 Her Majesty’s Stationery Office, Acts of Parliament, Sex Offenders Act 1997, 1997 chapter 51.
*1 Home Office News Release, Guidelines for Operating Sex Offenders Register Published, London, UK, August 11,
1997.
:2 Home Office Circular, HOC 39/1997, London, UK, August 11, 1997.
Ibid.
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Guidelines further state that when police make the decision to disclose, the types of
information released and the extent of its disclosure should be decided on a case-by-case
basis through police discretion, in consultation with other interested agencies.

When information is disseminated, it should only be released to an identified individual or
individuals directly at risk from a particular offender or to those with responsibilities for
supervising individuals at risk (e.g., teachers). Before releasing information, police should be
prepared to give advice and guidance on the proper use of information.

CANADA

In Canada, the Corrections and Conditional Release Act outlines the notification
responsibilities of the Correctional Service of Canada upon releasing federal offenders into the
community.** The Correctional Service of Canada is required to give the National Parole
Board, provincial governments, provincial parole boards, law enforcement, and any other body
authorized to supervise offenders, all information that is relevant regarding decision making on
the release, supervision, or surveillance of an offender. Unlike the United States, Canada has
no federal mandate requiring sex offender community notification. However, at least six
provinces, including Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland, Ontario, and
Saskatchewan are notifying the public about released sex offenders.”® Most programs
became effective in 1995 or 1996. British Columbia created a draft policy for notification in
1994.

Many similarities exist between Canadian and United States procedures for community
notification. Notification generally applies to sex offenders who pose a risk of harm to the
public. Local law enforcement agencies are usually involved in the decision-making process
and carrying out notifications. Once a determination has been made to release information
about an offender, law enforcement agencies notify the public via the media, flyers,
newspapers or telephone.

Alberta and British Columbia community notification programs apply to convicted sex offenders
judged to pose a risk of harm to others. In these provinces local police authorities and other
law enforcement or psychiatric service agencies decide whether notification is needed and, if
so, the scope, form, and content of notification. In Alberta, once a determination has been
made that an individual presents a risk to the public and law enforcement decide to notify, the
offender has the opportunity to challenge the decision.

In Manitoba and Saskatchewan, advisory committees assess sex offenders about to be
released from a correctional facility, those currently being supervised in the community, and
convicted offenders believed to pose a continuing threat to reoffend. Manitoba’s Community
Notification Advisory Committee is comprised of representatives from criminal justice agencies
at the federal, provincial, and municipal levels. In Saskatchewan, the Public Disclosure
Committee is comprised of a victims’ services official, the director of the regional sex offender

%4 Consolidated Statutes of Canada, 1992, c. 20 [C-44.6].

%5 Information provided by the John Howard Society of Alberta, Community Notification, 1997 and G. Lewis, Public
Prosecutors Division, Manitoba Justice, Summary of Canadian Notification Programs, prepared for the Provincial-
Territorial Meeting of Ministers Responsible for Justice, Fredericton, New Brunswick, February 1997.
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treatment program, officers from two municipal police services, one Royal Canadian Mounted
Police (RCMP) officer, a religious leader, an aboriginal representative, and a private bar
defense counsel. These committees work with law enforcement in making decisions about
community notification.

Newfoundland’s notification program applies to any high-risk sex offender whose criminal
history demonstrates one or more of the following characteristics: a pattern of repetitive
behavior evidencing a failure to restrain harmful conduct; a pattern of persistent aggressive
behavior showing a substantial degree of indifference of his/her behavior; any behavior that is
of such a brutal nature as to compel the conclusion that future conduct is unlikely to be
inhibited by normal standards of behavioral restraint; or, any conduct in any sexual matter that
reveals a failure or inability to control sexual impulses and gives rise to the probability of injury
or pain to others. Law enforcement is responsible for making the final decision and carrying
out a notification.

Ontario’s Community Safety Act permits police and corrections officials to release information
on high-risk offenders to victims, the public, and other criminal justice agencies.

AUSTRALIA

In August 1997, the Royal Commission into the New South Wales Police Service
recommended that consideration be given to a registration system with police of all convicted
child sexual offenders, requiring verification of address and notification of changes in name or
address to police services. The Commission further recommended:

Police services be empowered “to give warnings to relevant government
agencies, agencies and community groups relating to the presence of a person
convicted or seriously suspected of child sexual assault offenses, where
reasonable grounds exist for the fear that such a person may place a child or
children in the immediate neighborhood of the offender in serious risk of sexual
abuse.”®

Other states in Australia are providing their own programs to help identify child sexual abusers.
The Victoria Police recently announced that it would launch a year-round Internet site,
providing detailed information about pedophiles and contacts for victims needing help. The
Internet site is part of Operation Paradox, a 1989 initiative designed to raise public awareness
and give child victims of sexual abuse a means of reporting that abuse.>

% Royal Commission into the New South Wales Police Service, Final Report, Paedophile Inquiry (Volumes 4-6),
Commissioner: The Hon. Justice JRT Wood, The Government of the State of New South Wales, Australia 1997.
57 Jason Koutsoukis, New Home Page Throws the Net Over Paedophiles, The Age—Melbourne Online, Australia,
September 11, 1997.
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VIl. Offender Harassment

The potential for citizens to harass offenders following notification has been a concern since
these laws were first passed. Most notifications are accompanied by actions intended to guard
against harassment. These actions include warnings on flyers and verbal warnings during
door-to-door notification and at community meetings. Typically, these warnings advise citizens
that legal action will be taken against those responsible for the harassment and that the law will
be repealed if it results in citizen vigilantism.

In California, New York, and Wisconsin, phone lines that the public can access to obtain
registration information issue a warning stating that it is illegal to use information obtained to
commit a crime against any sex offender listed or to engage in illegal discrimination or
harassment against such a person. Alaska and Florida Internet homepages include a
reminder that information is made available for the purpose of protecting the public and that it
is illegal to use public information regarding a registered sexual predator or offender to
facilitate the commission of a crime.

At least three states have tracked incidents of harassment: New Jersey, Oregon, and
Washington.

New Jersey’s Administrative Office of the Courts reports that, as of May 1996, there were 528
sex offender registrants designated as Tier I, 585 as Tier Il, and 59 as Tier Ill. According to
county prosecutors, notification was completed for 135 out of the 644 individuals classified to
Tier 1l or 111.*®* According to law enforcement records, these 135 cases have produced only a
single instance of physical assault being reported to the authorities—an attack on a person
mistaken for a registered sex offender. In addition, there were a total of four reports to law
enforcement personnel of threats, harassment, or other offensive actions.>

Oregon’s Department of Corrections issued a 1995 report on community notification.®® From
the time of the law’s implementation (November 1993) to the time of the report, there were 237
notifications, representing 9 percent of those eligible under the statute (2,614). Less than 10
percent of this group experienced some form of harassment. These incidents included name-
calling, graffiti, toilet papering, and minor property vandalism. Two extreme cases of
harassment were reported: one sex offender was threatened at gun-point; a second offender
was blamed for slashing a victim’s tires and subsequently, threats of arson to the offender’s
residence were made.

In a 1996 survey of Washington State law enforcement officials, respondents recalled 33
incidents of harassment since the implementation of the law.* Law enforcement report issuing
a total of 942 notifications—615 Tier Il and 327 Tier llI; given the total number of notifications,
harassment incidents follow 3.5 percent of all notifications.

B EB. V. Verniero, P. 90.
*9 |bid.

60 Oregon Department of Corrections, Sex Offender Community Notification in Oregon, prepared for the 1995
Legislature, January 1995.

61 Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Community Notification in Washington State: 1996 Survey of Law
Enforcement, Olympia, WA, November 1996.
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The most serious incident resulted in a residence being burned down.® Two others resulted in
minor property damage, and in two cases, offenders were physically assaulted. Almost half of
these incidents extended to family members of the offender, usually in the form of verbal
threats and warnings. None of these harassment incidents have lead to prosecution.

In the United Kingdom, a serious incident of harassment occurred in February 1997.
Neighbors burned down the home of an alleged pedophile in the West Midlands. They were
unaware that a child was inside the house. The child died as a result of the fire.*®

Recently issued guidelines outline how and when police should disclose sex offender
information to community members and organizations in the United Kingdom.** These
guidelines advise police to educate community members on the proper use of information
before releasing such information.

15 July 1993, Snohomish County issued a notification on Joseph Gallardo which resulted in the offender’s planned
residence being burned down. The responsible parties were never caught and the crime was never solved.

8 Kate Hilpern, Child Protection: The Law and the Lynch Mob, The Guardian p.22, London, UK, February 19, 1997.
% Home Office Circular, HOC 39/1997, London, UK, August 11, 1997.
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VIll. Conclusion

Currently, 47 states have some form of a community notification, or Megan’s Law. Federal
guidelines outline procedures for states to follow in implementing the Jacob Wetterling Act and
Megan’s Law. States have until September 1997 to comply with these provisions or risk losing
10 percent of their crime control funds. States that are showing a “good faith effort” to reach
compliance may be granted an additional two years.

These statutes vary greatly in form and function. Many states have emulated existing
legislation in states with established programs when developing their own laws. However, no
two state laws are identical. The enactment of federal legislation that did not carry additional
funding, only penalties, has required states to look inward for resources in developing these
laws.

Legal challenges to Megan’s Laws have generally been unsuccessful, except for ex post facto
challenges. Retroactive application has been found unconstitutional in several states. Many
states that have recently enacted community notification legislation have limited the scope to
those individuals who committed their offense on or after the statute’s effective date. Recently,
the retroactive provisions of state statutes have withstood challenges in the United States
Court of Appeals.

Several states rely on a formal risk assessment for determining offenders subject to
notification. In many instances, offenders are allowed to petition for review of the risk category
in which they are placed. Courts have determined that this risk assessment and petition
process aids in upholding the constitutionality of these laws.

The few states that have tracked the effects of community notification report relatively few
documented instances of harassment. Most law enforcement officials have implemented
notification programs in a manner that emphasizes public education and guards against
vigilantism.

Recently passed federal legislation will enhance law enforcement’s awareness of sex
offenders as they move within and outside a state. The Pam Lychner Sexual Offender
Tracking and Identification Act of 1996 will implement a nationwide central repository that
contains the location, and other identifying information, of all registered sex offenders
throughout the country, allowing the Federal Bureau of Investigation to track sex offenders
when they move. The law directs the FBI to establish a national database of sex offenders
within the next three years.
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Appendix A: Summaries of State Statutes

TABLE OVERVIEW

The state statutes examined in this report can be compared in more detail by examining their
key elements: which offenders are subject to notification; how communities are notified and
what type of information is included in a notification; how an offender’s level of risk to reoffend
is assessed; what state and local roles are in the notification process; and how states utilize
sex offender registries.

The following six tables contain information regarding the 47 states’ community notification
statutes. Table 1 (parts a and b) contains information on the 18 states that authorize broad
community notification. Table 2 (parts a and b) contains information on the 14 states that
authorize notification to individuals and organizations at risk. Table 3 (parts a and b) contains
information on the 15 states that allow access to sex offender registration information. Each
table contains elements of state laws relating to community notification including the
notification process, risk assessment, state and local roles, and contact people involved in
each state’s notification program.
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TABLE la
State Laws Authorizing Broad Community Notification

State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Alabama A person convicted, Notification by mail and by posting copy of Name, address, sex, age, physical Statute applies to any person convicted of any
incarcerated, and released for | mailed notice in a prominent place at city hall description, current photograph, and a | criminal sexual offense.
(1996) a following offense: rape in and police station closest to declared residence | statement of the sex crime or crimes
the first or second degree; of released offender. Extent of notification for which the offender has completed
sodomy in the first or second | dependent upon population density in area of sentence, and the date of release. The
degree; sexual torture; sexual | offender’s residence: notification to all persons notification shall also include a
abuse; or incest when with residences within 1,000 feet of offender in statement that the same information is
offender is 20 years old or cities of Birmingham, Mobile, Huntsville, and on file at police headquarters, or
older and the victim is 18 Montgomery; notification to all persons with sheriff's office, and is available to the
years old or younger. residences within 1,500 feet of offender in all general public.
other cities with a resident population of 5,000
or more; notification to all persons with
residences within 2,000 feet of offender in all
other municipalities with a resident population of
less than 5,000.
Arizona Convicted sex offenders who: | Community notification guidelines provide levels | Tier lll flyers can contain a picture and | A screening tool developed by the Community
are released from prison, are | of notification based on risk: for low risk address of the offender, a brief Notification Guidelines Committee will place an
(1996) placed on probation, violate offenders, the local law enforcement agency criminal history, and synopsis of the offender into a low, medium, or high category.

and are reinstated to
probation, or have been
accepted under Interstate
Compact on or after June 1,
1996; notification dependent
upon level of risk.

that has responsibility for notification shall
maintain information about the offender and may
disseminate this information to other law
enforcement agencies and may give notification
to the people with whom the offender resides;
for moderate risk offenders, the notification may
be made to schools, neighbors, community
groups, and prospective employers; for high risk
offenders, the notification shall be made to
schools, neighbors, community groups,
prospective employers, and the media.

mode of operation used when
committing the offense.

Factors, such as seriousness of crime, use of force,
history of criminal behavior, and number of victims
will be assessed. Tier | offenders pose a lower risk
to the community. Tier Il offenders pose a medium
risk to the community. Tier Ill offenders would pose
the greatest risk to the community. Risk is
assessed within 72 hours of release or sentencing.
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(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

California
(1997)

Registered adult and juvenile
sex offenders; serious
offenders (specific offenses
covered in California Penal
Code 290), and high-risk
offenders.

A law enforcement agency may disseminate sex
offender information to ensure the public safety.
Serious sex offender information may be
provided to public and private schools, day care
centers, persons likely to encounter the
offender, and other agencies who serve
individuals likely to be victimized by the offender.
In addition to the above, high-risk offender
information to be released through media to the
public. Registered sex offender information can
be accessed through a "900" telephone line and
CD-ROM.

Information to be disclosed includes
the offender's full name, aliases,
gender, race, physical description,
photograph, date of birth, crimes
resulting in registration, address,
vehicle description and license plate
number, type of victim, parole and
probation conditions, dates of crimes,

and date of release from confinement.

Information released through “900”
number includes name, physical
description, and crimes resulting in
registration.

A high-risk sex offender is a serious offender who
has been convicted of an offense for which
registration is required and meets one of the
following criteria:
- Has been convicted of 3 or more violent sex
offenses.
Has been convicted of 2 violent sex offenses and
1 or more violent non-sex offenses.
Has been convicted of 1 violent sex offense and 2
or more violent non-sex offenses.
Has been convicted of either 2 violent sex
offenses or 1 violent sex offense and 1 violent
non-sex offense, and has been arrested on
separate occasions for 3 or more violent sex
offenses, violent non-sex offenses, or associated
offenses.

Registration records are continually searched to
identify high-risk offenders.

Delaware

(1994, Latest
Revision 1996)

Any offender convicted after
statute’s effective date (1994)
of specified offenses listed in
Title 11 of Delaware Crimes
and Criminal Procedure.

Community notification dependent upon risk
score received on the Registrant Risk
Assessment Scale. For those persons
receiving a low risk score, notification is
provided to all law enforcement agencies with
jurisdiction over the area where the offender
intends to reside. For those persons receiving a
moderate risk score, in addition to the previous,
a Community Organization Alert is provided.
This alert is provided to organizations registered
with law enforcement that operate an
establishment where children gather under their
care or where women are cared for and schools.
Notification provided only to those organizations
that are likely to encounter the offender. For
those persons receiving a high risk score, in
addition to the previous, the community is
notified by conducting door-to-door
appearances or by mail or by other methods.
Community notification should be targeted to a
defined community likely to encounter the
offender.

Notification to contain the offender’s
name, release address, offenses for
which convicted, and a photograph if
law enforcement deems appropriate.

An offender’s level of risk is determined through the
Registrant Risk Assessment Scale. Those
offenders receiving low-risk scores are considered
Tier | offenders. Those offenders receiving
moderate-risk scores are considered Tier Il
offenders. Those offenders receiving high-risk
scores are considered Tier lll offenders. This
assessment is not intended to determine the actual
probability of reoffense but is a method of objectively
placing registrants in tiers designed to provide the
public with notice of the whereabouts of convicted
sex offenders. Criteria considered on the risk
assessment include seriousness of the offense,
offense history of the registrant, and characteristics
exhibited by the registrant. The criteria are weighted
more heavily on seriousness of offense and less on
characteristics of the offender.

Notice of an offender’s pending release provided to
the Attorney General within 90 days. Notice of an
offender placed on probation provided no more than
5 days after the offender’s release. Attorney
General shall assess the offender within 10 days of
receiving notice of release.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Florida

(1995 Latest
Revision 1996)

Tier 1: sexual predators
whose offense was
committed on or after
October 1, 1993 and before
October 1, 1995.

Tier 2: sexual predators
whose offense was
committed on or after
October 1, 1995 and before
October 1, 1996.

Tier 3: sexual predators
whose offense was
committed on or after
October 1, 1996.

Tier 1 sexual predators are not subject to
community notification. Tier 2 sexual predators
are subject to statutorily authorized community
notification. Community notification to be
published once a week for 2 consecutive weeks
in a newspaper of general circulation in the
county where the predator resides. Tier 3
sexual predators are subject to broad-based
community notification. Sexual predator
information also available through an “800”
phone line and through the World Wide Web.

Notice includes name, description
(including a photograph), offense and
circumstances surrounding conviction,
and whether the victim was a minor or
adult at the time of offense.

For Tier 1, there must be a written court finding at
the time of sentencing for the designation as a
sexual predator. For Tiers 2 and 3, a written court
finding for the designation as a sexual predator may
occur at the time of sentencing or at a later hearing.
The court shall consider all relevant evidence when
assessing risk, including but not limited to:
relationship between the sexual predator and the
victim; whether offense involved the use of a
weapon or violence, or threat of violence; the
circumstances surrounding any prior sexual
offenses or violent offenses; evidence that indicates
a risk of recidivism; response to treatment; and
recent behavior.

Louisiana
(1992)

Applies to all sex offenders
convicted after August 21,
1992, the statute’s effective
date, and incarcerated sex
offenders convicted before
effective date, who are
eligible for parole after
statute’s effective date.
Additional notification
required for offenders with
victims under the age of 18.

Mandatory community notification for all
convicted sex offenders. Sex offenders
required to give notice by mail to at least one
person in every residence and business within a
one-mile radius in rural area and three square
blocks in urban area of offender’s residence,
and to superintendent of school district who
shall notify the principal of relevant schools.
Additional community notification via newspaper
publication at offender’s expense. If the victim
is under age 18, notice shall also be given to
park, playground and recreational area
superintendents within the designated area
where the defendant will reside.

Notice to include offender’s crime of
conviction, name, and address. When
victim is under 18, notice to
superintendent of school district and
superintendent of park, playground,
and recreational districts shall include
two clear, recent photographs. Also,
newspaper notification of an offender
whose victim is under 18 to include a
photograph.

Statute applies to all convicted sex offenders.
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(Year Enacted)
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Notification Process
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Assessing Risk

Massachusetts | A person convicted of a sex Notification dependent upon risk of reoffense: Tier 1l and lll notifications include: Guidelines for community notification established in
offense or who has been low risk, registration data transmitted to police offender’'s name, address, work a three-tier system dependent on the risk of
(1996) adjudicated as a youthful departments where the offender intends to live address, offenses for which convicted, | reoffense: Tier I, low risk; Tier Il, moderate risk;
offender or as a delinquent and work and where the offense was committed | date of conviction, age, sex, race, Tier lll, high risk. Factors relevant to risk shall
juvenile by reason of a sex and to the FBI; moderate risk, schools, day care | height, weight, eye and hair color, and include, but not be limited to: criminal history
offense, or released from centers, religious and youth organizations, and a photograph of the offender. factors; conditions of release; physical conditions
incarceration or parole or sports leagues that are likely to encounter the that minimize risk of reoffense; whether the offender
probation on or after August offender must also be notified; high risk, was a juvenile when offense was committed,
1,1981. individual members of the public that are likely response to treatment and subsequent criminal
to encounter the offender must also be notified. behavior; whether psychological or psychiatric
The public shall have access to all levels of sex profiles indicate risk; history of drug/alcohol abuse;
offender information. recent behavior; review of victim impact statement
and review of any materials submitted by the
offender.
A risk tier determination of each sex offender listed
in the registry shall be made, beginning with
offenders who have been released from
incarceration within the past 12 months, are
currently on parole or probation, or are scheduled
for release within 6 months.
Minnesota Applies to sex offenders who Notification process is dependent upon the Information to be included in a End-of-confinement review committees shall
are released, sentenced, or offender’s assessed level of risk to reoffend: low | notification is subject to judgment by conduct risk assessment and assign offenders to
(1996) adjudicated delinquent on or risk (Tier 1), information maintained within law local law enforcement. one of three tiers at least 90 days before released
after January 1, 1997. enforcement agencies and may be disclosed to from confinement or accepted for supervision.
victims or witnesses to the offense; moderate Factors relevant to risk assessment include, but are
risk (Tier I1), law enforcement agencies may not limited to: the seriousness of the offense should
disclose information to agencies and groups the offender reoffend; the offender’s prior offense
that the offender is likely to encounter (public history; the offender’s characteristics (response to
and private schools, day care facilities, and prior treatment efforts and history of substance
other agencies or groups dealing with children abuse); the availability of community supports to the
or women); high risk (Tier Ill), law enforcement offender (supervision, treatment availability, family
agencies also may disclose information to other and social relationships, lack of education or
members of the community whom the offender employment stability); and whether the offender
is likely to encounter. Exact methods of demonstrates a physical condition that minimizes
notification are subject to judgment by local law the risk of reoffense.
enforcement. For high-risk offenders,
community meetings are recommended.
Montana Sex offenders required to Limited notification dependent upon need to County sheriff may only release the Risk determined by ruling in district court.
register. protect; a court order allowing the release of name of a registered sex offender. If
(1991) registration information must first be obtained. court allows release of information for

If court order is obtained, possible method of
notification may be in the form of a press
release.

public protection, the information may
include a photograph, approximate
address, and other relevant
information.
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(Year Enacted)
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Notification Process
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Assessing Risk

Nevada All offenders convicted, after Notification process is dependent upon the Current photograph, complete The Attorney General and advisory council
October 1, 1995, of a sexual assessed level of risk: low risk, notice provided | description, name and all aliases used, | established three tiers of notification depending
(1995) offense and released on to local law enforcement agencies in the offense listed for which paroled and upon an offender’s risk of recidivism: Tier 1, low
parole are subject to risk jurisdiction where the offender is expected to brief description of circumstances of risk; Tier 2, moderate risk; Tier 3, high risk. The
assessment; notification reside or work; moderate risk, in addition to the crime and past offenses including date | assessment panel uses a community notification
dependent upon level of risk. previous level, notice provided to any school of offenses, age and sex of any victim, | assessment scale to place an offender in a
districts, camps, day care centers, youth general description of the geographic notification tier. The assessment scale utilizes
organizations, or other religious or community area where offense was committed, criteria intended to identify repetitive and compulsive
organizations that care or provide services to name and location of penal institution offenders. These criteria include seriousness of
children or women and are likely to encounter from which the offender was paroled, offense, criminal history, characteristics of offender,
the offender; high risk, in addition to the city block of offender’s residence, and community support. In weighing the criteria,
previous levels, notice provided to members of description and license number of any | seriousness of offense items are given the most
the community likely to encounter the offender vehicle owned by offender, and the weight, followed by criminal history, characteristics
and whom law enforcement considers location and telephone number of the of the offender, and community support items. The
appropriate to receive such notification. parole and probation office responsible | scale has a maximum point total of 168. Low risk
Methods of moderate risk notification can for supervising the offender. offenders’ scores range from 0 to 55, moderate risk
include meetings conducted at schools or at offenders’ scores range from 56 to 112, and high
organizations eligible to receive notification and risk offenders’ scores range from 113 to 168. Risk
fliers distributed to the head administrator of assessment to be conducted within 120 days prior
such organizations. Methods of high risk to the date the offender is eligible to be released on
notification can include door-to-door parole.
appearances, fliers distributed by mail, or other
methods.
New Jersey All sex offenders, released or | Notification process is dependent upon the In all tiers, the information will include Guidelines for community notification established in
adjudicated delinquent after degree of danger an offender presents to the name, description, photograph, a three-tier system: Tier I, low risk; Tier 2, moderate
(1994) October 31, 1994, required to | community: low risk, notice provided only to address, place of employment or risk; Tier 3, high risk. Factors relevant to risk of

register are subject to risk
assessment; notification
dependent upon level of risk.

victim and law enforcement agencies likely to
encounter the offender; moderate risk, notice
given to community organizations including
schools, religious and youth organizations; high
risk, subject to public notification, only to those
community members who are likely to encounter
the offender.

schooling, vehicle description and its
license plate number.

reoffense shall include, but not be limited to, the
following: (1) Conditions that minimize risk of
reoffense, including whether the offender is under
supervision of probation or parole; receiving
counseling, therapy or treatment; or residing in a
home situation that provides guidance and
supervision; (2) Physical conditions that minimize
risk of reoffense, including advanced age or
debilitating illness; (3) Criminal history factors
indicative of high risk of reoffense (outlined in
legislation).

Risk assessment occurs at least 90 days prior to
the inmate’s release.
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Ohio Sexual predators: a person Written notice of a habitual sex offender or Notification shall include the offender's | Sexual predator status determined if a person is
who is convicted of a sexually | sexual predator is provided to the following name, address, sexually oriented convicted of a sexually violent offense and also is
(1997) violent offense and is found persons within the specified geographic offense of conviction, and a statement | convicted of a sexually violent predator specification
by the sentencing court to be | notification area (defined in administrative rule that the person has been adjudicated that was included in the indictment, count in the
a sexual predator. as the entire school district in which an offender | as a sexually violent predator or indictment, or information charging the sexually
) resides): local law enforcement, all occupants habitual sex offender. violent offense. The conviction of the specification
Habitual sex offenders: a of residences adjacent to the offender’s place of automatically classifies the offender as a sexual
p;erson previously cor|1IV|cted residence; the executive director of the public predator.
griggfegrorprg;;::);’nzy children services agency; the supennt_en(_jerjt of In all other cases, the judge who is to impose
' OHE . each board of education of a school district; the tence upon an offender convicted of a sexuall
sentencing judge determines | a550inting or hiring officer of each nonpublic sen P : y
community notification is school; the director, head teacher, or elementa oriented offense may conduct a hearing to
P ' ' ' y determine whether the offender is a sexual predator.
necessary for that individual. incinal of each preschool program: the ! < off >
principal o p OOl program; In making the determination, the judge shall
The act applies to anyone administrator of each child day care center; and, consider all relevant factors, including the offender’s
released after January 1, the president or other chief administrative officer age and prior criminal record, the age of the victim,
1997, regardless of when the | ©f each institution of higher education. whether the offense involved multiple victims,
individual was sentenced. whether drugs or alcohol were involved in the
offense, whether the offender participated in
available programs for sex offenders, any mental
illness or mental disability, offender’'s demonstrated
pattern of abuse, and whether the offender
displayed cruelty or made threats of cruelty.
No levels of risk for habitual sex offenders;
determined by conviction.
For offenders sentenced prior to the effective date
but released after the effective date, the Ohio
Department of Rehabilitation and Correction makes
a recommendation to the sentencing court. For
offenders sentenced after the effective date, the
court makes the determination prior to sentencing.
Oregon Offenders classified as Notifications have included television and radio Notice may include: name, address, Upon an offender’s pending release, the
predatory sex offenders. A announcements, community meetings, physical description, type of vehicle Department of Corrections uses the Sex Offender
(1993) predatory sex offender is newspaper articles, door-to-door flyers, and driven, any conditions of probation, Risk Assessment Scale to determine if an offender

defined in statute as any
offender under parole,
probation or post-prison
supervision who has been
convicted of rape, sodomy,
sexual abuse, unlawful sexual
penetration, in any degree, or
of attempting to commit one
of these crimes, who exhibits
characteristics showing a
tendency to victimize or injure
others. Statute is retroactive.

posting of the offender’s residence. Method
dependent upon geographic location and
population density.

parole or conditions of release,
description of primary and secondary
targets and method of offense, current
photograph, and probation or parole
officer's name or phone number.

exhibits predatory characteristics. An offender is
considered predatory if he/she receives a score on a
minimum of three of nine starred criteria on the risk
assessment or otherwise determined by the
supervising agency, or by the Board of Parole and
Post-Prison Supervision. These criteria are: history
of sex offense convictions, stranger to victim,
multiple victims, use of weapons, threats or
coercion, predatory behavior, prior non-sexual
criminal history, forcible rape, use of a weapon
during commission of offense, and men who molest
boys (multiple male victims).
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(Year Enacted)
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Assessing Risk

Rhode Island
(1996)

Registration required for any
person who has been
convicted of a criminal
offense against a victim who
is a minor, a sexually violent
offense, or has been
determined to be a sexually
violent predator. Applies to
those convicted of an offense
committed after the act’s
effective date.

Notification process is dependent upon the
degree of risk of reoffense by the offender: low
risk, law enforcement agencies likely to
encounter the registered person shall be
notified; moderate risk, organizations in the
community including schools, religious and
youth organizations likely to encounter the
registered person shall be notified; high risk,
members of the public likely to encounter the
registered person shall be in accordance with
the notification advisory council and attorney
general’s guidelines.

Procedures for community notification,
including content and form, to be
developed.

Guidelines dependent on the degree of risk of
reoffense: Tier |, low risk; Tier Il, moderate risk;
Tier lll, high risk. Factors relevant to risk include,
but are not limited to: conditions of release that
minimize risk of reoffense; physical conditions that
minimize risk of reoffense; criminal history factors
indicative of high risk of reoffense; whether or not
psychological or psychiatric profiles indicate a risk
of recidivism; the offender’s response to treatment;
recent behavior; recent threats against persons or
expressions of intent to commit additional crimes.

Tennessee
(1994)

All sex offenders required to
register. Statute applies
retroactively to all convicted
offenders.

Notification based on need to protect the public
from a specific sex offender.

County sheriff to release relevant and
necessary information for a specific
sex offender. Exact information to be
released determined by sheriff.

Sex offender’s level of risk determined by sheriff
upon notice of a registration statement.

Texas
(1995)

Registered offenders who are
dispositioned on or after
September 1, 1995, for any
offense where the victim is a
child younger than the age of
17, excluding incest offenses
and all deferred probation
offenses.

Community notification via newspaper
publication and notice to superintendent of
public schools by mail. Registration information
available to the public.

Newspaper publication to include
offender’s age and gender; a brief
description of the offense for which
subject to registration; and the
municipality, street name, and zip code
where the offender intends to reside.
Registration information contained in
central database is public information,
with the exception of offender’s photo,
social security number, driver's license
number, street address and home
phone number.

Notification in all cases of sex offense against a
victim under 17, excluding incest offenses and all
deferred probation offenses.
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Washington

(1990, Latest
Revision 1997)

Adult and juvenile sex
offenders, regardless of
conviction date, are subject to
risk assessment; notification
dependent upon level of risk.

Notification is dependent upon the level of risk
an offender poses to public safety: low risk,
notice to law enforcement agencies and may
disclose information, upon request, to any
individual community member who resides near
an offender; moderate risk, information may also
be disclosed to schools, child day care centers,
family day care providers, businesses and
organizations that serve primarily children,
women, or vulnerable adults, and neighborhood
groups; high risk, information may also be
disclosed to the public at large. A model policy
is to be developed by December 1, 1997, for
agencies to follow when disclosing information
about sex offenders to the public. Community
meetings are one form of public notification.

Public agencies are authorized to
release relevant and necessary
information regarding sex offenders to
the public when release of the
information is necessary for public
protection. A model policy is to be
developed for agencies to follow when
disclosing information about sex
offenders to the public, including
content and form of notifications.

The Department of Corrections, the Juvenile
Rehabilitation Administration, and the Indeterminate
Sentence Review Board are required to classify all
sex offenders released from their facilities into tiers
of risk for the purposes of public notification: Tier I,
low risk; Tier Il, moderate risk; and Tier Ill, high risk.
An end-of-sentence review committee is established
for the purpose of assigning risk tiers, reviewing
available release plans, and making appropriate
referrals for sex offenders. The committee shall
assess, on a case-by-case basis, the public risk by
sex offenders who are preparing for their release
from confinement or are accepted from another
state under the interstate compact.

Wyoming
(1997)

Individuals convicted of a
felony sex offense in which
the victim was less than
sixteen years of age and the
offender was at least four
years older than the victim.
Applies to offenders
convicted after January 1,
1985.

Notification process is dependent upon the
degree of risk of reoffense by the offender,
determined by the court: low risk, notification
provided to only those persons authorized to
receive criminal history records information
(criminal justice agencies, state agencies
working with children and families); moderate
risk, in addition to the previous level, notification
to organizations including schools, religious and
youth organizations; high risk, in addition to the
previous levels, notification provided to the
public, through means specified in the court's
order.

Registration information includes the
offender's name, address, date and
place of birth, social security number,
recent photograph, fingerprints, crime
for which the person was convicted,
date and place of conviction, and place
of employment.

In determining an offender’s risk of reoffense, the
court shall consider: conditions of release that
minimize risk of reoffense; physical conditions that
minimize risk of reoffense; criminal history factors
indicative of high risk of reoffense; whether or not
psychological or psychiatric profiles indicate a risk
of recidivism; the offender’s response to treatment;
recent behavior; recent threats against persons or
expressions of intent to commit additional crimes,
and other criminal history factors.
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TABLE 1b

State Laws Authorizing Broad Community Notification

State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person

Alabama The warden of the correctional facility in which the The Chief of Police, or county sheriff, shall notify all No released sex crime Ron Cunningham or
offender is incarcerated shall, within 48 hours of an persons, within a designated area of the declared offender shall be allowed to Isaac Kervin
offender’s declaration of intended residence, notify the residence of the released offender, that the offender will | establish a legal residence Criminal Justice Information
Attorney General, the Director of the Department of be establishing his or her residence in proximity to the within 1,000 feet of any Center
Public Safety, the district attorney and the sheriff of the residents. public or private school, day | (205) 242-4900
county in which the offender intends to reside, the chief care center, any other child
of police of any municipality, and the FBI. care facilities, or former

victims.

Arizona The agency that had custody of the offender must The originating agency forwards material to the chief Previously registered sex Kenneth Marion
complete the risk assessment instrument and send it, law enforcement officer of the community in which the offenders subsequently Fugitive Unit Supervisor,
along with identifying information about the offender, offender is residing. Within 45 days of receiving the convicted of registration Community Corrections
and the date of release and sentencing to the information about the offender, the chief law violations are subject to Division,

Department of Public Safety. Within 10 days after enforcement officer must categorize the offender and community notification. Department of Corrections
release or sentencing, the Department of Public Safety determine a notification tier and make the required (602) 255-4244

must make sure the offender is registered. The notification.

originating agency notifies and forwards information

packet to local law enforcement agency.

California The Department of Justice receives all registration When a peace officer reasonably suspects that a child Warnings are given through | Debbie Mullinax
records and reviews these records for the purpose of or other person may be at risk from a sex offender, a the "900" phone line and Department of Justice
identifying high-risk offenders. Four times each year, law enforcement agency may provide information about | CD-ROM that it is illegal to (916) 227-3743
the department provides to each chief of police and that registered sex offender to ensure public safety. A use information obtained to
sheriff in the state, and to any other law enforcement law enforcement agency may continue to disclose commit a crime against any
agency upon request, information regarding each information on an offender for as long as the offender is | person listed or to engage in
identified high-risk sexual offender. The Department of | registered. Local law enforcement agencies are illegal discrimination or
Justice also provides a "900" phone line for the general required to make the CD-ROM or other electronic harassment against such
public to call and request information regarding a medium containing information regarding registered sex | persons.
specific offender. The Department of Justice is also offenders available for public viewing.
required to provide a CD-ROM or other electronic
medium containing information regarding registered sex
offenders to specified law enforcement agencies.

Delaware State Attorney General assesses an offender in The chief law enforcement officer of the jurisdiction Notification by Department Carl C. Danberg

accordance with the Registrant Risk Assessment
Scale. The Attorney General notifies the state police
and the chief of law enforcement in the jurisdiction
where the offender intends to reside as to the resulting
score on the risk assessment and of the assessment
itself.

where the offender intends to reside provides
notification of the convicted sex offender’s release in
accordance with the offender’s assessed level of risk.

of Correction via newspaper
publication is still in effect
for offenders convicted
between 1994 and 1996 of
sexual offenses against
victims under age 16.

Department of Correction
(302) 856-5243
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State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Florida All sexual predators must register with the Department The sheriff of the county or the chief of police where the | At the court hearing, the For inquires contact:
of Law Enforcement (FDLE). The FDLE shall notify the | Tier 2 sexual predator resides shall notify the public. sexual predator has the right | Sexual Predator Program
sheriff, the state attorney, and the chief of police of the The notice must be published once a week for two to be present, to present User Services Bureau
community in which a predator resides within 48 hours consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general testimony, to call and cross- | Department of Law
of the predator’s registration with the Department. For circulation published in the county where the predator examine witnesses, and to Enforcement
Tier 2 sexual predators, the state attorney shall file a resides. The sheriff of the county or the chief of police be represented by counsel. (904) 488-5224
petition with the circuit court for a hearing to determine where the Tier 3 sexual predator resides shall notify the | Effective October 1, 1997,
whether the offender poses a threat to the public. Ifthe | public in any manner deemed appropriate. all tiers of court ordered
offender is determined to pose a threat, the court shall sexual predators are subject
submit its finding to the sheriff or chief of police of the to community notification.
community where the sexual predator resides. The
FDLE also maintains an “800” phone line which the
public may call to request information about sexual
predators. This information is also available through the
World Wide Web, on the FDLE homepage
(http://www.fdle.state.fl.us/).

Louisiana Upon release from incarceration, as condition of parole, | In cases where the defendant has been convicted of a Any person having the duty William T. “Bill” Price
the State Board of Parole requires the offender to give sex offense and the sentencing court places the to register and give notice Department of Public Safety
notice in any form that it deems appropriate. Sex offender on probation, the court requires the offender to | may petition the sentencing and Corrections,
offender disseminates information by mail and notice register and give notice in any form that it deems court to be relieved of that Division of Probation and
shall be published on two separate days within 30-day appropriate, consistent with relevant statutes. Methods | duty. Parole
period in the official journal of the governing authority of | of dissemination are the same as required by Board of (504) 342-6609
the parish where the defendant plans to reside. The Parole. The court and parole boards have the
board may order any other form of notice that it deems discretion to add conditions in addition to those
appropriate, including but not limited to signs, handbills, | mandated by law.
bumper stickers, or clothing labeled to that effect.

Notification shall occur within 21 days after conviction
or release from confinement, whichever occurs later.
Massachusetts The Sex Offender Registry Board, overseen by the The police department receiving the registration Tier | designation shall be Charles McDonald or

Executive Office of Public Safety, developed guidelines
to assess the risk of reoffense by a sex offender and
provides for three tiers of notification depending on the
risk of reoffense. The Board transmits registration data
to the police departments where the offender intends to
live and work and where the offense was committed,
and to the FBI.

information from the Sex Offender Registry Board shall
be required to notify the appropriate organizations or
individuals in the community in which the offender
intends to live, work, and where the offense, for which
registration was required, was committed.

final, with no judicial review.
A Tier Il or Tier 1l
designation may be
petitioned by the offender in
the superior court where the
offender intends to reside.

Jim Gilbert

Executive Office of Public
Safety

(617) 727-7775
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Comments
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Minnesota End-of-confinement review committees are incorporated | The Minnesota Peace Officers Standards and Training An offender assigned to Tier | Stephen Huot
at each state correctional facility and at each state (POST) Board shall develop a model policy for law Il or Ill has the right to seek Sex Offenders/Chemical
treatment facility where sex offenders are confined. enforcement agencies to follow when they disclose administrative review of the Dependency Services,
The committees assess the public risk posed by sex information on sex offenders to the public. The policy committee’s risk Department of Corrections,
offenders on a case-by-case basis. Each committee shall address and recommend the following matters: assessment determination. (612) 642-0279
consists of the following members appointed by the contents and form of community notification
Commissioner of Corrections: the chief executive officer | documents; methods of distributing community
or head of the correctional or treatment facility where notification documents; methods of providing follow-up
the offender is currently confined, or that person’s notifications to community residents at specified
designee; a law enforcement officer; a treatment intervals; methods of educating community residents at
professional who is trained in the assessment of sex public meetings on how they can use the information to
offenders; a caseworker experienced in supervising sex | enhance their safety; procedures for educating
offenders; and a representative from a victim advocacy community members regarding the right of sex
organization. offenders not to be harassed; and procedures for
educating sex offenders on the nature and scope of the
notification process.
Montana Prior to release of sex offender, the State Department of | The district court for the judicial district in which the County sheriff may release Ted Clack
Corrections and Human Services may petition the court | prison is located which holds the offender or the judicial | the name of a sex offender Department of Corrections
for an order allowing the release of relevant and district where the offender intends to reside is petitioned | only. (406) 444-4907
necessary registration information regarding the for release of information.
offender, needed to protect the public. Department of
Correction to notify community if court deems
necessary.
Nevada The State Attorney General together with an Advisory The relevant law enforcement agency shall disclose Any offender assessed as Carlos C. Concha

Council for Community Notification has established
statewide guidelines and procedures for notification.
The advisory council consists of three members
appointed by the Governor and four members appointed
by the legislative commission. Risk assessment is
performed by a three-member panel consisting of the
Director of the Nevada Department of Prisons, the
Chief of the Nevada Division of Parole and Probation,
and the Administrator of the Division of Mental Hygiene
and Mental Retardation, or their respective designees.

information regarding the sex offender to the
appropriate parties, according to the tier of risk
assessed.

Tier Il or lll shall have 10
days following the
assessment to request a
hearing for reconsideration
of the assessment.
Warnings accompany Tier Il
and Il notifications advising
that it may be a violation of
state law to redistribute
information. Notifications
also warn against
vigilantism.

Department of Probation
and Parole
(702) 687-5752
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State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

New Jersey The State Attorney General developed guidelines in The county prosecutors of the county where the person | The United States Court of Debra L. Stone
consultation with the Notification Advisory Council, a was convicted and where the registered person will Appeals for the Third Circuit | Assistant Attorney General
12-member body created by law: four appointed by the reside, together with any law enforcement officials that in Philadelphia upheld the (609) 984-0020
Governor; four appointed by the President of the either deems appropriate, shall assess the risk of retroactive application of the
Senate; and four appointed by the Speaker of the reoffense by the registered person. The county state’s Megan's Law in
General Assembly. prosecutor of the county in which the registered person | August 1997.
will reside, after consultation with local law enforcement
officials, shall determine the means of notification.
Some methods of notification include community
meetings, speeches in schools and religious
congregations, and door-to-door visits in the
community.
Ohio State Attorney General shall establish and maintain a The sheriff with whom the offender has most recently Guidelines necessary for Darrel Pennington
state registry of sex offenders that is housed at the registered is responsible for providing community implementation of sex Bureau of Criminal
Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation notification to designated individuals located in the offender registration and Identification and
(BCI&l). Attorney General, in consultation with local law | specified geographic notification area. community notification have | Investigation
enforcement, shall adopt guidelines necessary for not been adopted. Attorney General's Office
implementation of sex offender registration and (614) 466-8204
community notification. The BCI&I is to develop and )
provide necessary forms (registration, verification, Mike Elrod o
change of address, etc.) to county sheriffs. The BCI& Attorney General's Office
is required to forward registration information to county (614) 644-5720
sheriffs and to the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Oregon Before a sex offender’s release from prison, a Release Local law enforcement can provide notification on James Ragon
Counselor completes the risk assessment scale and specific convicted sex offenders who have been State Police
submits it along with other release information to the discharged from supervision. The law enforcement (503) 378-3720
Board of Parole and Post-Prison Supervision. If the agency must find that the offender is predatory and
Board determines the offender is predatory, they enter must make that determination in conjunction with the
the finding to the Parole Order. The parole/probation Department of Corrections.
officer classifies offenders on probation, using the risk
assessment scale. The supervising officer completes a
notification plan on offenders determined to be
predatory. Notification plan includes type and content
of community notification, as well as geographic scope
of the notification.
Rhode Island A Notification Advisory Council is established to consult | The parole board and the chief law enforcement officer Guidelines to be established | Gregg Perry

with and provide recommendations to the attorney
general concerning the guidelines to be promulgated for
community notification. The council shall consist of 12
members who have a personal interest or professional
expertise in law enforcement, crime prevention, victim
advocacy, criminology, psychology, parole, public
education or community relations.

of the city or town in which the convicted offender will
reside shall develop procedures for evaluation of the
risk of reoffense and implementation of community
notification.

within six months of the
appointment of the
Notification Advisory
Council.

Attorney General's Office
(401) 274-4400
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State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person
Tennessee State Bureau of Investigation maintains sex offender Local law enforcement to determine if sex offender Challenges to this law are Jeff Long
database and disseminates information to county sheriff | poses a threat to public safety, at own discretion. currently pending in the Special Agent in Charge,
and local law enforcement agencies. Notification to the public determined on a case-by-case U.S. District Court for both Bureau of Investigation
basis. Procedures for public notification determined by | the Eastern and Middle (615) 741-0430
local law enforcement, at its discretion. Districts of Tennessee.
Texas Department of Public Safety maintains a central Local law enforcement provides community notification A person subject to Paul Jordan
database of registered sex offenders. Information when an offender is released and when an offender registration may petition the Criminal Intelligence Service
contained in the database, that is considered public, changes address. Community notification published in district court for injunctive Department of Public Safety
may be released to any individual who requests such English and Spanish in at least one newspaper of relief to restrain a local law (512) 424-2200
information in writing. general circulation in the county in which the offender enforcement authority from
intends to reside. Local law enforcement shall also publishing notice in a
provide notice to the superintendent of public schools of | newspaper, until a hearing
the school district in which the offender intends to is held. The court may
reside, by mail to the district office. Members of the grant relief warranted by the
community may also obtain information on registered facts if it is determined that
sex offenders from the local law enforcement by written | the information published in
request for a fee that covers the cost of providing the the newspaper would place
requested information. the person’s health and well
being in immediate danger.
Washington The End of Sentence Review Committee includes Upon receiving a narrative notice, local law enforcement | Washington’s community Victoria Roberts or

representatives from the Department of Corrections,
and from the juvenile corrections and mental health
divisions of the Department of Social and Health
Services. The committee shall issue to appropriate law
enforcement agencies narrative notices regarding the
pending release of sex offenders. The narrative notices
describe the identity and criminal history behavior of the
offender and shall include a risk tier classification for
the offender. For offenders classified as Tier Il or lll,
the narrative notice shall also include the reasons
underlying the classification. By December 1, 1997, the
W ashington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs
(WASPC) shall developed guidelines for notification to
be used after the risk assessment has been conducted.

agencies review all available information and assign risk
tier classifications to all sex offenders about whom
information will be disseminated. Local law
enforcement agencies may classify an offender to a risk
tier other than the one assigned in a narrative notice. If
so, the law enforcement agency must submit its
reasons supporting the change in classifications. Local
law enforcement agencies are to follow the model
guidelines, developed by WASPC, when disclosing
information to the public. Local law enforcement
agencies shall make a good faith effort to notify the
public and residents at least 14 days before the sex
offender is released.

notification law was the first
in the country.

Maureen Ashley
Department of Corrections
(360) 753-6789
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Wyoming

The Division of Criminal Investigation maintains a
central registry of sex offenders. Upon application of
the district attorney, and following notice to the offender
and an in-camera hearing, the district court may, based
upon its finding as to the risk of reoffense by the
offender, authorize the release of information, beyond
entities entitled to receive criminal history record
information.

Local law enforcement maintains registration records. If
authorized by district court, the county sheriff or chief of
police may dissemination these records to the public
through means specified in the court’s order.

Any person having the duty
to register may petition the
district court for relief of that
duty. Statute is effective
July 1, 1997.

Dave Gruver
Legislative Services Office
(307) 777-7881
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TABLE 2a
State Laws Authorizing Notification to Individuals and Organizations at Risk

State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Arkansas
(1997)

All adult sex offenders who
have been adjudicated on or
after the effective date of this
act.

Limited public disclosure when it is deemed
necessary to protect the public from a specific
sex offender required to register. Guidelines
shall be developed to address the scope of
disclosure of information to the public.

Guidelines and procedures shall
identify the extent of the information to
be disclosed to the community in order
to enhance their individual and
collective safety.

The guidelines developed by the Child
Abuse/Rape/Domestic Violence Commission shall
identify factors relevant to an offender’s future
dangerousness and likelihood of reoffense or threat
to the community prior to an offender’s conditional
release or discharge.

Connecticut
(1994)

Sex offenders required to
register.

Limited public disclosure, when it is deemed
necessary to protect a person from a specific
sex offender required to register.

Registration information includes
name, address, social security
number, inmate number, crime of
conviction, date and place of
conviction, probation termination date,
and a complete description of the
offender including photograph and
fingerprints.

Only those sex offenders who are deemed a threat
to public safety by local law enforcement agencies
are considered a risk.

Georgia Child sex offenders. Offenders convicted of a listed sex offense are Notice to include offender’'s name, Statute applies to all child sex offenders.
required to notify superintendent of public address, crime for which convicted,
(1994) school district and sheriff in area of residence and parole date. Registry includes
as condition of parole. Sheriff to maintain offender’'s name and address only.
registry of all registered sex offenders in county
for inspection by the public.
Illinois Any offender convicted of a Notification of registerable sex offenders to: Offender’'s name, date of birth, Statute applies to felony convicted sex offenders
registerable sex crime or an schools, child care facilities, the public, lllinois address, offense for which convicted. adjudicated or released from confinement after
(1996) attempt to commit such a Department of Children and Family Services; January 1, 1986, for a period of 10 years, and any

crime, or an equivalent
offense in another state.
Offenders adjudicated as
Sexually Dangerous Persons
where the victim was under
the age of 18. Retroactive
application includes
convictions or releases from
confinement after January 1,
1986. Offenders convicted of
a child murder (victim under
the age of 18) after June 1,
1996.

and discretionary release to any person or
organization likely to encounter sex offenders.

person convicted of a child murder (victim under 18)
after June 1, 1996.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Indiana
(1994)

Sex offenders, convicted
after June 30, 1994, with
victims under 18.

Statutory notification to all public and nonpublic
schools, state agencies licensing or hiring
individuals dealing with children, and registered
child care facilities. Sex offender registry is
accessible on the World Wide Web.

Local law enforcement registration
information includes: name, all aliases,
date of birth, sex, race, height, weight,
eye color, social security number,
driver’s license number, home
address, identification of offense(s),
date of conviction, and sentence
imposed. The statewide Sex Offender
Registry contains the same information
excluding home address.

Statute applies to all convicted sex offenders with
victims under 18.

lowa
(1995)

Sex offenders required to
register for a criminal offense
against a minor, sexual
exploitation, or a sexually
violent offense. Applies to
offenders convicted or
incarcerated on or after
statute’s effective date.

Registration information disseminated to
criminal justice agencies, government agencies
for background checks, the public, with case-
specific authorization, when deemed necessary
to protect the public, and an individual if specific
identifying information is provided about both the
person requesting the information and the
registrant, along with the reason for requesting
the information.

Registration forms include the
registrant’s name, social security
number, current address, and phone
number. Exact information released to
the public not specified in statute.

Statute applies to offenders convicted of specific
offenses.

Maine
(1996)

Applies to offenders
convicted of gross sexual
assault with a victim under 16
who are sentenced or placed
in institutional confinement on
or after September 1, 1996.

Upon the conditional release or discharge of a
sex offender from a state correctional institution,
notice is given to members of the public who are
determined appropriate to ensure public safety.

Notification to include the offender's
address, work address, the geographic
area to which the offender's conditional
release is limited (if any), and the
status of the offender when released
as determined by a risk assessment
instrument.

Prior to conditional release or discharge, a risk
assessment instrument will be applied to all sex
offenders for the purpose of notification to law
enforcement agencies and to the public. The risk
assessment instrument will be created and modified
as necessary by reviewing and analyzing precursors
to a sex offense, victim populations of a sex
offender, living conditions and environment of a sex
offender and other factors predisposing a person to
become a sex offender or a repeat sex offender.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Maryland

(1995, Latest
Revision 1997)

Child sexual offenders,
convicted after October 1,
1995. Offenders, Sexually
violent offenders, and
offenders found to be
sexually violent predators
after July 1, 1997.

The supervision agency, in some instances the
Courts, must notify the designated law
enforcement agency of the child sex offender.
The designated law enforcement agency must
notify the County Superintendent of schools,
who must, in turn, notify the school principals.
Law enforcement may provide notice to
individuals or organizations if the agency
determines that such notice is necessary to
protect the public interest. Procedures for
carrying out the notification requirements to be
developed. Registration information provided
upon request.

Registration information includes:
name, address, place of employment;
description of the crime, date
convicted, jurisdiction of conviction, all
aliases used, social security number,
photograph, and fingerprints.

Statute applies child sexual offenders convicted
after October 1, 1995, and to offenders convicted of
a sexually violent offense, ordered by the sentencing
court to register (for kidnapping, child prostitution,
and child pornography), or found to be a sexually
violent predator after July 1, 1997. If a person is
convicted of a second sexually violent offense, the
sentencing court shall determine whether the person
is a sexually violent predator before the offender is
released. The supervising authority notifies the
sentencing court at least six months prior to an
offender’s release. The sentencing court makes a
predatory determination based on information
presented, including: the offender’s inmate record;
any evidence introduced by the person convicted,;
and any evidence presented by a victim of the
sexually violent offense.

New Adult sex offenders required Law enforcement may notify organizations in the | Law enforcement may provide an An offender can file a petition for a qualified order
Ham i to register. community where an offender intends to reside. | organization with the following with the superior court. The court shall issue a
pshire A > > ; . , o X ;
Organizations include, but are not limited to: information: offender’'s name and qualified order if the court finds by clear and
(1996) schools, youth groups, day care centers, address, recent photograph, offense convincing evidence that the offender’s risk of
summer camps, libraries, or any other for which convicted, method of reoffending is low. The superior court may
organization where children gather and are approach, and information on the consider, but not be limited to: conditions of release
supervised by persons in the organization. Law | profile of previous victims. which minimize the risk of reoffending; whether the
enforcement may utilize a form developed by the petitioner’s physical condition minimizes the risk of
Department of Safety for the dissemination of reoffending; factors present in the petitioner's
information. criminal history; any history of substance abuse;
response to treatment; and recent behavior.
New York All sex offenders subject to Notification process is dependent upon the Information disclosed dependent upon | An offender’s tier of risk is determined 60 days prior
registration are subject to risk | degree of danger an offender presents to the offender’s classified tier of risk. Tier | to discharge, parole or release, through assessment
(1996) assessment; amount of community: low risk, notice to law enforcement; includes only the name of the offender. | instrument: Tier I, low risk; Tier ll, moderate risk;

notification information
dependent upon level of risk
assessed.

moderate risk, law enforcement may
disseminate relevant information to any entity at
risk and that entity may disclose information at
their discretion; high risk same as moderate
risk. High-risk sex offender information is
available to the public, upon request, in the
Subdirectory of High-Risk (Tier 11I) Sex
Offenders.

Tier Il includes offender’s approximate
address based on zip code,
photograph, crime of conviction,
modus of operation, type of victim
targeted and the description of special
conditions imposed. Tier Il also
includes offender’s exact address.
Subdirectory of High-Risk (Tier 11I) Sex
Offenders also contains photographs
of offenders.

Tier lll, high risk. The instrument measures current
offense, criminal history, post offense behavior, and
planned release environment. It assigns numerical
values to each risk factor — e.g., 20 points if there
were two victims; 30 points if there were three or
more victims. The presumptive risk tier is
calculated by adding total points. If the score is 70
points or less, the offender is presumptively Tier |; if
more than 70 but less than 110, Tier II; if 110 or
more Tier lll.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

Oklahoma

(1995, Latest
Revision 1997)

Sexual predators, defined in
statute as those offenders
convicted after November 1,
1997, of child abuse where
sexual abuse of exploitation is
involved, forcible sodomy,
rape by instrumentation, rape
1 and 2, or lewd/indecent
proposals or acts to a child
under 16, or who move into
the state with one of these
convictions. All adult sex
offenders convicted or
entering the state after
November 1, 1989, (offenses
defined in statute) are
required to register.

Sexual predators notification provided to family,
prior victims, residential neighbors and
churches, community parks, schools,
convenience stores, businesses and other
places that children or other potential victims
may frequent, information available to the public
upon request. Limited access to registration
information for sex offenders not designated as
sexual predators; available to entities that
provide services to children, including churches
and elementary schools, and request the

registry.

Notification may include, but is not
limited to name, address, physical
description, vehicle description,
conditions of release, description of
past offense patterns, current
photograph, and the name and
telephone number of the offender’s
probation or parole officer.

Sexual predator status is determined by conviction.

Pennsylvania

(1995, Latest
Revision 1996)

Sex offenders assessed as
sexually violent predators.
Statute applies to offenders
convicted after statute’s
effective date and offenders
convicted before the statute’s
effective date that remain
under jurisdiction of the
Board of Probation and
Parole or Department of
Corrections.

Community notification regarding sexually
violent predators issued as a means of assuring
public protection. Sexually violent predator
information available to the public upon request.

Notice includes name, address,
photograph, offense for which
convicted, and a statement by the
court that the offender is a sexually
violent predator.

Members of the Sexual Offender Assessment
Board conduct two separate risk assessment
evaluations. These evaluations are then submitted
to the court of conviction for determination of
sexually violent predator status. Risk assessment
includes factors such as age of the offender,
offender’s prior criminal record, age of the victim,
whether there were multiple victims, use of illegal
drugs by offender, offender’'s completion of
sentence and participation in programs for sex
offenders, mental illness or mental disability of the
offender, demonstrated pattern of abuse in sexual
contact with victim, unusual cruelty displayed by
offender, and any behavioral characteristics that
contribute to offender’s conduct.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Population Subject
to Notification

Notification Process

Information Included

Assessing Risk

West Virginia All convicted sex offenders Registration information is distributed to the Registration information includes the Statute applies to all sex offenders required to
and those convicted of county superintendent of schools where the offender's name, address, social register.
(1996) attempt to commit are person will reside, the child protective services security number, date of birth, previous
required to register. office in the county where the person will reside, | address, county of residence,
and the local law enforcement in that county jurisdiction of arrest or conviction
where the person will reside. All community including date of conviction, if not
organizations or religious organizations that incarcerated, or date of release from
regularly provide services to youths in the incarceration, description of crime, and
county where the person will reside can receive parole or probation officer name and
offender registration information once they have | phone number.
signed a non-disclosure agreement with the
state police. Information may be provided to any
other person upon application to (and approval
by) the circuit court where the applicant seeking
the information resides.
Wisconsin All individuals who are Sex offender registry maintained on statewide Offender's name and any aliases, date | Special bulletins are distributed to law enforcement
convicted of felony sexual level. Registration information also available on of conviction or commitment, make, from the Department of Corrections and contain
(1996) offenses or determined to be local level. There will be ongoing direct access model and license number of vehicle, detailed information on a specific offender who

sexually violent persons.

to the registry through an “800” phone line. In
addition, information may be disseminated when
deemed necessary. The law allows for flexibility
and discretion for decision-making at the
community level by law enforcement and
correctional officials.

supervising agency and phone
number, and date information was last
updated. Additional information may
be included in a special bulletin,
including a recent photograph, history
of criminal sexual convictions, and
description of offense pattern.

poses a significant risk to the community. These
bulletins are mandatory for all offenders convicted of
two separate sexual assaults and those offenders
committed as sexually violent persons. "Sexually
violent person" means a person who has been
convicted of a sexually violent offense, has been
adjudicated delinquent for a sexually violent offense,
or has been found not guilty of or not responsible for
a sexually violent offense by reason of insanity or
mental disease, defect or illness, and who is
dangerous because he or she suffers from a mental
disorder that makes it substantially probable that the
person will engage in acts of sexual violence. The
Department of Corrections has discretion on
disseminating bulletins on any other cases.
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TABLE 2b

State Laws Authorizing Notification to Individuals and Organizations at Risk

State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Arkansas

The Child Abuse/Rape/Domestic Violence Commission
shall promulgate guidelines and procedures for the
disclosure of information to the public when it is
deemed necessary for public protection. In developing
guidelines and procedures, the commission shall
consult with persons who, by experience or training
have a personal interest or professional expertise in law
enforcement, crime prevention, victim advocacy,
criminology, psychology, parole, public education, and
community relations. The proposed guidelines and
procedures shall be submitted to the House and Senate
Committees on Public Health, Welfare and Labor for
their review and the Commission shall report to the
Committees every six months on the implementation of
these guidelines. The State Board of Education shall
promulgate guidelines for the disclosure to students
and parents of information regarding an offender when
such information is released to a local school district by
a local law enforcement agency.

Local law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction shall
disclose, in accordance with guidelines, relevant and
necessary information regarding offenders to the public
when disclosure of such information is necessary for
public protection. Law enforcement shall make a good
faith effort to notify the public within 14 days before an
offender is released or placed into the community. The
board of directors of a local school district shall adopt a
written policy, in accordance with guidelines
promulgated by the State Board of Education, for
distribution to students and parents of information
regarding an offender.

Statute effective August 1,
1997. Guidelines have not
been implemented.

Lt. Mary Margaret
Kesterson, State Police,
(501) 221-8223

Connecticut

State Board of Parole notifies local law enforcement
agencies and victims listed with board, of sex offender’s
release into jurisdiction.

The chief of police or resident state trooper may release
registration information to governmental agencies
conducting background checks or to specific individual
if disclosure determined to be necessary to protect that
individual from a sex offender required to register.

Exact method of notification
not set. Discretion lies with
local law enforcement
agencies.

Nick Gentile
Board of Parole
(860) 566-3710

Georgia Registration requirement ordered as a condition of Sheriff of each county maintains a registry of all Method of direct notice to Eden Freeman
parole. registered sex offenders, which public may examine. superintendent and sheriff Bureau of Investigation
not specified. Crime Information Center
(404) 244-2895
Illinois The lllinois State Police shall establish and maintain a The law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall Mike Welter, Carol

statewide sex offender database for the purpose of
identifying sex offenders. The database shall be
created within the Law Enforcement Agencies Data
System (LEADS). The State Police shall provide lists
of child care facilities and schools to police departments
and sheriff's offices. The State Police shall provide sex
offender registration information to the lllinois
Department of Children and Family Services. The State
Police provide training to criminal justice agencies
throughout the state.

enter notification and registration information into the
LEADS and disclose sex offender information to school
boards of public school districts and the principal or
other administrative officer of non-public schools, and
child care facilities located in the county or police
district where the sex offender resides. Every municipal
police department or sheriff's office shall make available
to the public, at its headquarters, information on
registered sex offenders within their jurisdictions.

Williams, Ben Cooper
State Police, Intelligence
Bureau

(217) 785-2316
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State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Indiana The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute maintains a Sex Offender registration required with local law Catherine O’Connor
Offender Registry available on computer disk and the enforcement agencies in area where offender intends to Criminal Justice Institute
World Wide Web (http://www.state.in.us/acin/cji/). reside. (317) 232-1233
Paper copy of Registry distributed to schools,
registered child care facilities, state licensing agencies,
and other requesting entities that provide services to
children.

lowa The Department of Public Safety determines who The sheriff of each county shall release information The Department of Public Steve Conlon
receives information regarding specific sex offenders. regarding a specific offender to the general public if the | Safety shall adopt Division of Criminal
Department is responsible for maintaining a central person requesting the information gives the person’s procedures for determining Investigation
registry of sex offenders. Registration information name and address in writing, states the reason for when public release of (515) 281-5138
disseminated to criminal justice and government requesting the information, and provides the sheriff with | information is appropriate.
agencies for background checks. The Departmentora | the name and address of the person about whom the
criminal justice agency with case-specific authorization information is sought.
from the Department may release relevant information
from the registry that is necessary to protect the public
concerning a specific person who is required to
register.

Maine The Department of Corrections shall establish and Upon receipt of information concerning the conditional Upon request, the Dorothy Morang

apply a risk assessment instrument to each sex
offender under its jurisdiction for the purpose of
notification to law enforcement agencies and to the
public. When an offender is conditionally discharged,
the Department of Corrections provides the Department
of Public Safety and the State Bureau of Identification
notice of sex offender information. Upon receipt of
information, the Department of Public Safety and the
State Bureau of Identification forwards the information
to all law enforcement agencies that have jurisdiction in
those areas where the offender may reside or work.
The Department of Corrections also gives notice to
members of the public whom the department
determines appropriate to ensure public safety.

release or discharge of a sex offender, a local law
enforcement agency shall notify members of that
municipality whom the law enforcement agency
determines appropriate to ensure public safety.

Department of Corrections
shall provide to law
enforcement agencies
technical assistance
concerning risk assessment
for the purposes of
notification.

State Bureau of
Identification
(207) 733-3377
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Maryland

The State Department of Public Safety and Correctional
Services shall maintain a central registry of sexual
offenders and sexually violent predators. Information is
forwarded to the department by local law enforcement
agencies. Registries available via the World Wide
Web: http://www.dpscs.state.md.us/

Designated law enforcement agency shall send written
notice of the registration statement to the county
superintendent in the county where the child sexual
offender will reside. The county superintendent shall
send written notice of the registration statement to the
principals of the schools within the supervision of the
superintendent. Law enforcement agencies shall
establish procedures for carrying out the notification
requirements. Upon written request, a designated law
enforcement agency shall send a copy of a registration
statement to the person who submitted the request.
The request must contain the requester’'s name,
address, and reason for the request.

The Department of Public
Safety and Correctional
Services shall conduct
public education and
awareness programs to
inform the public of its ability
to obtain information
regarding sexual offenders.

Audrey Brown

Department of Public Safety
and Correction,

Division of Correction

(410) 764-4188

Earl L. Gillespie
Department of Public Safety
and Correction and CJIS
(410) 764-5665

New Hampshire

Statewide LENS computer system will maintain list of
registered sex offenders.

Offender must register with local law enforcement
agency, which is responsible for further dissemination
of information. Law enforcement notifies community
organizations of a sex offender within 10 days of
registration. Offender petitions must be filed with the
Merrimack County Superior Court. If the court finds by
clear and convincing evidence that disclosure beyond
law enforcement is not warranted, the offender’s
registration information shall be sealed.

Kelly Wright
State Police
(603) 271-2663

New York

Sex offenders are assessed as Tier |, II, or 1l (low,
medium, and high risk of reoffending). This information
is forwarded from the sentencing court to the Registry
at the Division of Criminal Justice Services and is
communicated to local police departments who may
disseminate relevant information to the community. The
Registry produces and distributes the Subdirectory of
High-Risk (Tier 1ll) Sex Offenders and operates a “900”
telephone line which the general public may call and
inquire whether a named individual is listed. Caller
must provide information concerning the registrant
including name of potential registrant and exact street
address, or birth date, or social security number, or
driver’s license number. Additional information such as
name, hair color, eye color, height, weight, distinctive
markings, and ethnicity are helpful but not required.

Local law enforcement agencies may notify schools and
other entities with vulnerable populations about a sex
offender’s presence if the offender poses a threat to
public safety. The Subdirectory of High-Risk (Tier IlI)
Sex Offenders is available at law enforcement agencies
throughout the state.

The United States Court of
Appeals for the Second
Circuit in New York upheld
the retroactive application of
the state’s Megan’s Law in
August 1997.

Kelly Haskin-Tenenini
Division of Criminal Justice
Services

(518) 457-3167
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State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Oklahoma

The Department of Corrections maintains statewide sex
offender registry and provides all local law enforcement
officials a list of those offenders registered and living in
their county, as well as sexual predators.

Local law enforcement shall provide notification of
sexual predators. Local law enforcement determines
the method of notification and those deemed
appropriate to receive notification, including family, prior
victims, residential neighbors and churches, community
parks, schools, convenience stores, businesses and
other places that children or potential victims may
frequent, and to any person upon request. Each local
law enforcement agency makes its sex offender
registration information available to public and private
elementary schools, licensed child care facilities, any
state agency that licenses individuals to work with
children, to the State Office of Personnel Management
to screen persons who may work with children, and to
other entities that provide services to children and
request the registry, including churches.

Sexual predator provisions
of law effective November 1,
1997.

Jim Rabon

Department of Corrections
(405) 425-2615

e-mail address:
osjimr@doc.state.ok.us

Pennsylvania

Assessment of a convicted sex offender is conducted
by the Sexual Offender Assessment Board, then given
to the court of conviction. At least two psychiatrists or
psychologists, appointed by the governor, perform the
assessment. The court determines, based on
assessment, whether the offender is a sexually violent
predator.

The chief law enforcement officer of the police
department of the municipality where a sexually violent
predator lives is responsible for providing written
notification to neighbors, the director of the county
children and youth services, superintendent of each
school district, director of each licensed day care
center, and president of each college within the
offender’s residential vicinity. Notice shall be provided
to neighbors within 72 hours after information of
offender’s release date is received by the chief law
enforcement officer and 7 days to all other entities
entitled to receive notification. Information on sexually
violent predators available upon request to the general
public.

Before imposing predatory
judgement, a separate
hearing is held at which the
offender presents evidence
to the contrary. Offender
has the right to be heard
and to call witnesses, and
has the right to counsel
during court proceedings.
Offender also has the right
to petition the court with
original jurisdiction for
reconsideration of the
determination in 5-year
intervals after release.

Megan's Law Section of the
State Police Department
(717) 783-4363

West Virginia

The state police maintain a central registry of all
persons who register and are responsible for the
release of registration information. The state police are
also responsible for verifying the address every year of
all the offenders registered and every 90 days for the
violent offenders.

When a person required to register is released from
incarceration, granted probation, granted a suspended
sentence, released on probation or parole, or ordered to
be placed on home detention, the commissioner of
corrections, regional jail supervisor or city or sheriff
operating a jail which releases such person and any
parole or probation officer who releases such person or
supervises such person following the release shall
obtain all registration information and forward it to the
state police. State police will be notified within 3 days of
release.

The circuit court may
provide an applicant
registration information
when that court finds that
the information is sufficiently
relevant to protect public
safety and outweighs the
importance of maintaining
confidentiality.

Sgt. Thomas Barrick
State Police, Director of
Criminal Records

(304) 746-2177
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State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Wisconsin

An “800” phone line is operated statewide that members
of the public may call to access information on a
specific sex offender. Department of Corrections
makes available all information on released sex
offenders to local law enforcement; individual inquiries
may be made to the department as well. Law
enforcement can access the sex offender registry
through the CIB/TIME computer access system.
Department of Corrections distributes special bulletins
to local law enforcement on those offenders who pose a
significant risk to the community.

Local law enforcement maintains registration
information; inquiries may be made by members of the
general public. County sheriff or local police chief may
disseminate additional information about a released sex
offender when deemed necessary.

Anthony Steveler
Department of Corrections
(608) 266-3831

Special Agent Ron Feurer
Department of Justice
(414) 227-2100
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TABLE 3a

State Laws Allowing Access to Registration Information

State
(Year Enacted)

Offenders Subject to
Registration

Registry Type

Information Included

Who Has Access

Alaska Convicted sex offenders who were Central registry is located in the Public disclosure of offender’'s name, Law enforcement agencies and any
convicted of a single sex offense and Alaska Department of Public Safety, address, photo, and place of employment. | person who submits a written request
(1994) whose unconditional discharge date was Division of Alaska State Troopers. A Date of birth, all aliases or other names to the department’s permits and
July 1, 1984, or later; all convicted sex list of all registered sex offenders is used, crime for which convicted, date of licensing unit for the information (on
offenders who have been convicted of two available at each Trooper’s Office. conviction, place and court of conviction, a form supplied by the department).
or more sex offenses. and length of sentence are available on A list of all registered sex offenders is
the registration report only. The list of all available at each Trooper's Office for
registered sex offenders, available at each | viewing. Registry is also available on
Trooper’s Office, contains the offender’s the World Wide Web:
name, resident address, date of birth, and http://www.state.ak.us/
crime for which convicted.
Colorado Adult and juvenile sex offenders convicted Registration records kept with local Basic identification information released Information regarding any person
on and after July 1, 1994, residing in the law enforcement agencies. Central regarding the registrant including a registered may be released to the
(1994) state. registry maintained of all sex offenders | photograph if readily available, and a public. Information may be released
registered in state. history of sex offense convictions. to anyone residing within the local
law enforcement agency’s
jurisdiction, and anyone outside the
jurisdiction upon request and
demonstration of a need to know.
Hawaii Any person convicted of a sexually violent A file of all registered sex offenders is Name, all aliases, street name and zip Relevant information that is
offense or a criminal offense against a maintained on state and local levels. code where offender resides and how long | necessary to protect the public
(1997) victim who is a minor. Applies retroactively Information also available through an offender has resided there, future address | concerning a specific person required
to offenders convicted before statute’s interactive electronic database and telephone number (if known), street to register shall be released to the
effective date. maintained by respective law name and zip code of the offender’s general public.
enforcement agencies. current location of employment, vehicle
registration information, a brief summary
of offenses, and a recent photograph.
ldaho Adult sex offenders and juveniles charged A central registry of sex offenders who | Name, all aliases, offenses committed, Registration information available to
as adults, convicted, incarcerated, on are required to register is maintained. place of commission, where found or pled public through central registry upon
(1993) probation or parole on or after statute’'s guilty, and name at time of conviction. request. Requester must provide

effective date (July 1, 1993), are required to
register for life.

offender’'s name and date of birth or
name and address.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Offenders Subject to
Registration

Registry Type

Information Included

Who Has Access

Kansas

(1994, Latest
Revision 1997)

The date of conviction and type of offense
determines whether an offender must
register. Anyone convicted of the following
offenses and whose date of offense
occurred on or after April 14, 1994, must
register and such registration becomes
public record: rape, (aggravated) indecent
liberties with a child, (aggravated) criminal
sodomy, (aggravated) indecent solicitation
of a child, sexual exploitation of a child, and
aggravated sexual battery. Anyone
convicted of the following offenses on or
after April 14, 1994, must register, and if
date of offense occurred on or after July 1,
1997, such registration becomes public
record: sexual battery and aggravated
incest. Anyone convicted of the following
offenses on or after July 1, 1997, must
register, and if date of offense occurred on
or after July 1, 1997, such registration
becomes public record: capital murder, first
degree murder, second degree murder,
voluntary (and involuntary) manslaughter,
kidnapping (except by a parent),
aggravated kidnapping, criminal restraint
(except by a parent) when the victim is less
than 18 years of age, adultery, criminal
sodomy, promoting prostitution, patronizing
a prostitute, lewd and lascivious unlawful
sexual conduct when one of the parties
involved is less than 18 years of age.

Central repository for all registrants
maintained on a statewide level.
Information is available for inspection
at the local level. Selected offender
information is available on the World
Wide Web
(http://www.ink.org/public/kbi).

Name, date of birth, offense committed,
date of conviction, city or county of
conviction, a photograph, fingerprints, and
social security number.

Members of the general public may
inspect registration records. Date of
offense determines whether an
offender’s registration information is
public record.

Michigan

(1994, Latest
Revision 1997)

Adult and juvenile sex offenders.

A central computerized database that
consists of all individuals registered
under this act.

Information released includes the
offender's name, date of birth, address,
physical description, and a brief summary
of convictions for listed offenses.

Sex offender registration information
is available for public inspection.

Mississippi
(1995)

Any person residing in the state who has
been twice adjudicated delinquent for any
sex offense or attempted sex offense or
who has been convicted of any sex offense
or attempted sex offense or who has been
acquitted by reason of insanity for any sex
offense or attempted sex offense. Applies
retroactively to offenders convicted before
statute’s effective date.

A central registry of sex offenders
required to register is maintained on a
statewide level. Registration also
available on a local level.

Name and address of registered offender,
place of employment, crime for which
convicted, and date and place of
conviction.

Upon request, the public has access
to the statewide central registry and
to registration information maintained
at the local level.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Offenders Subject to
Registration

Registry Type

Information Included

Who Has Access

Missouri
(1997)

Offenders required to register if convicted of
any of a felony sex offenses on or after July
1, 1979.

Central repository of sex offender
registration information maintained.
Local law enforcement maintains lists
of sex offenders registered in
jurisdiction.

Name, address, and crime of convicted.

A local law enforcement agency shall
provide a complete list of offenders
registered within the agency’s
jurisdiction to any person upon
request.

North Carolina

(1995, Latest
Revision 1997)

Individuals convicted, in North Carolina or a
state with similar laws, on or after January
1, 1996, or released from a penal institution
on or after that date, of a sex offense
against a minor, or a sexually violent
offense. Beginning in 1999, juveniles age
12-15 convicted of a serious sex offense
will be subject to registration.

Registration database of all registered
sex offenders residing in state.
Access to sexual predator information
will be provided to the public via the
Internet, beginning April 1, 1998.
Individual registration records
maintained at local level.

Name, sex, address, physical description,
picture, conviction date, offense for which
registration was required, the sentence
imposed as a result of the conviction, and
registration status.

Sex offender registration information
and registry is public record, open for
public inspection. A copy of the
entire registry may be provided to
any group, entity, organization or
school working with children, the
disabled or elderly upon written
request and payment of a fee.

North Dakota
(1991)

Adult sex offenders and adult non-sex
offenders against children.

A file of registered offenders
maintained at both state and local
levels.

Name, address, date of birth, gender,
place of employment, offense of
conviction, date of conviction, court of
record, release date, treatment history,
whether they have been designated as a
sexually violent predator, date of
registration, originating agency, and
registering agency.

Relevant and necessary registration
information shall be disclosed to the
public by a law enforcement agency
if the agency determines that the
individual registered is a public risk
and disclosure of the information is
necessary for public protection.

South Carolina
(1994)

A person convicted of the following: criminal
sexual conduct in the first, second, third
degree or assaults with intent to commit;
criminal sexual conduct with a minor in the
first or second degree; engaging,
producing, directing, or promoting a child
for sexual performance; incest; buggery;
eavesdropping or peeping. Applies to
persons convicted after July 1, 1994.

Automated registry is available
through a statewide network.
Registration information available at
local level.

Name of the offender, any aliases, date of
birth, current home address, offense for
which offender was required to register,
date, city and state of conviction, and a
photocopy of a current photograph is
provided.

Information collected for the offender
registry is open to public inspection,
upon request to the county sheriff.
Request must be made in writing,
stating the name of the person
requesting the information, and the
name or address of the person about
whom the information is sought.
Only one name is allowed per
request. Law enforcement can only
release information to the public
living in the county which the
offender is registered.

South Dakota
(1994)

Adult sex offenders present in the state and
juveniles, 15 years or older adjudicated of a
sex crime or of felony sexual contact as
defined in statute.

Sex offender registry maintained at
state level, registration lists provided
to local law enforcement.

Name, address, all aliases, complete
description, photo, fingerprints, length of
time at residence, and length of time
expected to remain at that residence.

Registration information and records
are public records.
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State
(Year Enacted)

Offenders Subject to
Registration

Registry Type

Information Included

Who Has Access

Utah Adult sex offenders. Sex offender registration information Information released to petitioners includes Law enforcement agencies, State
maintained on statewide level. offender’'s name and address, physical Office of Education, Department of
(1996) description, type of vehicle, any conditions Corrections, and a petitioner pursuant
or restrictions of release, current to a petition approved by the
photograph, name or telephone number of department. A petitioner is a person
offender’s parole and probation officer, who requests in writing information
crimes charged with and convicted of, about a sex offender, and is a victim of
description of offender’s primary and a sexual offense or a resident in a
secondary targets, and a description of the location where a sex offender is
offender’'s method of offense. suspected to reside. A petition must
include a return address and telephone
number.
Vermont Sex offenders convicted on or after July 1, Sex offender registry maintained on Sex offender’'s name, date of birth, general Local, state and federal law
1996, and sex offenders convicted prior to statewide level. physical description, current address, social | enforcement agencies, any employer,
(1996) July 1, 1996, confined under the custody of security number, fingerprints, current including a school district, who is
the commissioner of corrections, and photograph, current employment, offense, authorized by law to request records
released from confinement on or after July 1, supervising probation office, availability of and information from the criminal
1996. Also includes sex offenders convicted treatment history, and conditions of release. | information center, where such
in another state on or after July 1, 1986, and disclosure is necessary to protect the
who established residence in Vermont on or public concerning persons required to
after July 1, 1996. register. Members of the public may
be notified by a law enforcement
agency in the interest of public safety.
Virginia All sex offenders and violent sex offenders Statewide sex offender registry Registration information includes name, Information disseminated upon request
are required to register with the Department maintained. alias, sex, race, date of birth, social security | to public and private schools, child
(1994) of State Police. Sex offenders are required to number, fingerprints, photograph, and welfare agencies, family day care,

verify their address on an annual basis.
Violent sex offenders are required to verify
their address every 90 days. (Including
juveniles convicted in circuit courts.)

description of convictions requiring
registration.

child-minding and day care services.
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TABLE 3b

State Laws Allowing Access to Registration Information

State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person
Alaska State Department of Public Safety is Sex offenders register at their local Sex offender allowed to view Corporal Patrick Hames,
responsible for maintaining central registry of | Trooper’s Office, which then forwards the registration information that refers to Department of Public Safety,
sex offenders. information to the Department of Public that offender, and if the offender Division of State Troopers
Safety. A list of all registered sex believes the information to be (907) 258-8892.
offenders is available at each Trooper's inaccurate, to request the department
Office. to correct the information.
Colorado State Bureau of Investigation maintains The local law enforcement agency where Local law enforcement agencies are Gray Buckley
central registry of sex offenders. offender is registered is to provide strongly encouraged to regularly Bureau of Investigation
registration information to anyone who provide public notice of the availability (303) 239-4207
requests the information and resides within | of sex offender information.
the agency’s jurisdiction or demonstrates a
need to know. Local law enforcement
agencies must report all registration
information to the State Bureau of
Investigation for entry into central registry.
Hawaii Sex offenders are required to register with County police departments also provide Sex offenders are required to register Dan Morris
the state’s attorney general. Attorney general | relevant sex offender information for public | for life. Offenders can petition any Deputy Attorney General
shall release information upon request at the inspection upon request and payment of circuit court for relief of duty to register | (808) 586-1160
Hawaii Criminal Justice Data Center upon reasonable fees. after five years of release or conviction
payment of reasonable fees. (whichever is later). If the petition is
denied, a new petition may not be
submitted earlier than one year
following denial.
ldaho The Idaho Department of Law Enforcement Offenders required to register with county Any person having duty to register may | Lonnie Gray

to establish and maintain a central registry of
sex offenders who are required to register.
The district court shall provide written
notification to the offender at the time of
sentencing of duty to register.

sheriff. County sheriff to forward
registration information to Department of
Law Enforcement for entry into central

registry.

file a petition with the district court for
an order to expunge the information
contained in the registry. The court
may grant the petition if the petitioner
shows that: duty to register has
expired; no criminal charge pending or
under investigation; and not a
substantial risk to commit new
violations.

Bureau of Criminal Investigation
(208) 884-7135
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State State Role Local Role Comments Contact Person
Kansas Offenders are required to register at the time | County sheriff maintains registration Any sex offender registered may apply | Mary Ann Howerton
of release from the Department of information. Registration information open | to the court having jurisdiction over the | Manager, Crime Data Information
Corrections or upon placement with court to public inspection in sheriff's office county in which the offender resides Center
services or community corrections. The subject to Open Records Act. for an order relieving the sex offender Kansas Bureau of Investigations
Kansas Bureau of Investigations acts as the of the duty of registration. If the court (913) 296-8277
central repository for all sex offender finds the offender rehabilitated, the
registration. court shall grant an order relieving the
offender of the duty to register.
Michigan Department of State Police is responsible for | Local law enforcement makes the sex Local law enforcement is not required Det. Sgt. Robert Carr
creating, maintaining, and disseminating the offender registry available for the zip code to make a copy of the information fora | State Police
computerized database, consisting of a area located within agency's jurisdiction to member of the public. (517) 336-6683
compilation of registered sex offenders, to the public.
local law enforcement agencies.
Mississippi State Department of Public Safety to Sheriff of each county maintains A Sex Offender Advisory Board has Lt. Judy Tucker
maintain registration information in a registration information for that county and been formed to review all sex offenders | Department of Public Safety
statewide central registry. This information is | forwards information to Department of in order to determine if an offender isa | Criminal Investigation Bureau
forwarded to county sheriffs as well as the Public Safety. Sheriff is required to make sexual predator. Nothing in this statute | (601) 987-1592
FBI and appropriate law enforcement in the available to law enforcement and to any shall be construed to prevent law
state to which a registrant is moving or has person upon request, sex offender enforcement officers from providing
moved. State to send non-forwardable registration information. community notification of any
postcards to offenders every year, or every circumstances or individuals that pose
90 days to sexual predators. State Crime or could pose a danger to the public.
Lab maintains DNA database.
Missouri The State Highway Patrol maintains the Local law enforcement responsible for Law effective August 28, 1997. Jim Vermeersch

Missouri Uniform Law Enforcement System
(MULES), a central repository containing a
list of all registered sex offenders in the state.

registering sex offenders and forwarding
information to the Highway Patrol. A local
law enforcement agency shall provide
information on each offender registered
within such agency’s jurisdiction to any
person upon request.

Executive Director
Missouri Sheriff's Association
(573) 635-5925

North Carolina

State Division of Criminal Information
maintains complete registration database and
will be responsible for maintaining the
registry on the Internet.

Requests for registration information must
be made to county sheriff. Any person can
obtain a copy of an offender’s registration
form upon payment of the costs to copy the
form.

Any individual required to register may
petition the superior court in the county
of residence for exemption from
registering. If the individual shows for
good cause that registration will not
serve any useful purpose, the court
shall grant the exemption.

Jane Gray
Department of Justice
(919) 716-6400
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State

State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

North Dakota

Office of Attorney General maintains a statewide
registry and provides registration materials and
instructions to all involved agencies. State
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation
initiates most registration processes by informing
offenders of the registration requirement.

Local law enforcement agencies are the
registering agencies, completing registration
forms and acquiring fingerprints and
photographs. Local law enforcement
agencies determine whether an offender is a
public risk. Disclosure of sex offender
registration information dependent upon law
enforcement agency’s discretion.

Statute is currently under court
challenge (State v. Breiner, 1997 ND
71).

Bob Helten
Bureau of Criminal Investigations

(701) 328-5500

South Carolina

The automated statewide sex offender registry is
under the direction of the chief of the State Law
Enforcement Division (SLED). Department of
Corrections, the Department of Probation, Parole,
and Pardon services, or the Department of
Juvenile Justice enters the information on an
offender being released from their facility on a
certain date. The automated registry sends a
message to the county where the offender will
reside, advising them of the requirement of that
person to register within 24 hours of release.

The offender must register with the sheriff of
the county in which he/she resides. The
county sheriff enters the information into the
automated registry and is responsible for all
updates, changes, and annual registration of
the offender. All fingerprints and
photographs are kept by the sheriff’s office.

Any person required to register under
this statute shall be required to
register annually for life.

Capt. Nita Danenburg
Law Enforcement Division
(803) 896-7051

South Dakota

State Division of Criminal Investigation provides
registration lists to local law enforcement and
criminal records check.

Local law enforcement agencies maintain
registration lists, open to public inspection.
Registration information is forwarded to the
Division of Criminal Investigation.

Juveniles placed on the registry can
petition the court for removal upon
showing that he/she has not been
adjudicated or convicted of a sex
crime for at least 10 years and is not
a threat to reoffend.

Jacque Storm
Legislative Research Council
(605) 773-3251

Judy Schneider
Division of Criminal Investigations
(605) 773-3331

Utah

State Department of Corrections (DOC) shall
develop and operate a system to collect, analyze,
maintain, and disseminate information on sex
offenders and sex offenses.

Any law enforcement agency shall inform the
DOC of a report or complaint of a sex
offense, an arrest of a person suspected of
committing a sex offense. Upon convicting a
person of a sex offense, the convicting court
shall forward a copy of the judgment and
sentence to the DOC.

This law is not retroactive. The DOC
shall make rules necessary to
implement this law including criteria
for approval of a petition, method of
dissemination of information, and
instructions regarding use of
information by a petitioner.

Machelle Rodriguez
Department of Corrections
(801) 265-5626
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State Role

Local Role

Comments

Contact Person

Vermont

Department of Public Safety established and
maintains a statewide sex offender registry and
has the responsibility to verify addresses of
registrants and to notify law enforcement
agencies as to the address of a registrant who
moves into or out of their jurisdiction. The
Department of Corrections shall notify the
Department of Public Safety of sex offender’s
release or change of address. Upon receipt of
information, the Department of Public Safety shall
transmit the conviction data and fingerprints to
the FBI.

Sentencing court shall forward the sex
offender’s conviction record, including
offense, date of conviction, fingerprints,
photograph, sentence and any conditions of
release or probation to the Department of
Public Safety.

Max Schlueter

Criminal Information Center,
Department of Public Safety
(802) 244-8727

Virginia

Department of State Police release sex offender
registration information upon request to criminal
justice agencies, public and private schools, child
welfare agencies, child-minding, family day care,
and day care services for screening possible
employees or volunteers.

Local criminal justice agencies are required to
fingerprint and photograph individuals upon
registration and submit the registration
information to the Department of State Police,
within prescribed time frames.

Registration information not available
to the public.

Captain R. Lewis Vass
Department of State Police
(804) 674-2147




Appendix B: State Notification Statutes

Alabama: Senate Bill 393

Alaska Statutes: § 12.63.010

Arizona Revised Statutes: § 13-3825
Arkansas: House Bill 1061

California: Assembly Bill 1562
Colorado Revised Statutes: § 18-3-412.5
Connecticut Public Act: § 94-246
Delaware Laws: 11 § 4336

Florida Statutes: § 775.21

Georgia Code: 42-9-44.181

Hawaii: House Bill 108

Idaho Code: § 9-340

lllinois: Senate Bill 721

Indiana Code: 5-2-12 § 11

lowa Code: 8§ 692A

Kansas Statutes: 22-4910

Louisiana Revised Statutes: 15-574.4(h)
Maine Revised Statutes: 34-A § 11001
Maryland: Senate Bill 605
Massachusetts: Senate Bill 2149
Michigan: Senate Bill 959

Minnesota: Senate Bill 2856
Mississippi: Senate Bill 2800

Missouri: Senate Bill 56, House Bill 883
Montana Code: § 44-5-301 81
Nevada Revised Statutes: § 213.1247
New Hampshire: House Bill 1543

New Jersey Statutes: 2C: 52-2

New York Correct. Law: 8§ 168

North Carolina: Senate Bill 676

North Dakota Code: § 12.1-32-15
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Ohio: House Bill 180

Oklahoma: House Bill 1729

Oregon Statutes: 8§ 191.508
Pennsylvania Statutes: Title 42 § 9793
Rhode Island: House Bill 7576

South Carolina: Senate Bill 1286

South Dakota Codified Laws: § 22-22-31
Tennessee: Pub. Chap. #976

Texas Revised Civil Statutes: Title 110A,
Article 6252-13c.1

Utah: House Bill 15

Vermont: Senate Bill 217

Virginia Code: § 19.2.390.1
Washington Revised Code: § 4.24.550
West Virginia: Senate Bill 130
Wisconsin: Senate Bill 182

Wyoming Statutes: § 7-19-301
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